The Old Man and the Sea

Published in: 1952
Pages: 132
Edition read: E-book

Book description:
It is the story of an old Cuban fisherman and his supreme ordeal: a relentless, agonizing battle with a giant marlin far out in the Gulf Stream. Using the simple, powerful language of a fable, Hemingway takes the timeless themes of courage in the face of defeat and personal triumph won from loss and transforms them into a magnificent twentieth-century classic.

My review:
This short book took me forever to read, and it was because I found it bloody boring. I know Hemingway is one of the greats of 21st century literature, and he won a Pulitzer for this book, but oh my god…. why. What am I missing?

The old man, whose name I forgot due to boredom, goes fishing. He hooks a Marlin who pulls his boat for 2 days before he manages to finally reel it in and kill it, then because it’s too big, it can’t go into his boat so he drags this fish corpse in the water, attracts sharks, sharks eat the Marlin, and the old man goes home with nothing.

THE END.

That is literally the entire story. There is no symbolism or lyrical waxing about the ocean, there are no adventures or big revelations, there is just an old guy sitting in a fishing boat….. I honestly didn’t see the point of this book and kinda was rooting for the old man’s death; I wanted the Marlin to win.

Final review:
The old man and the sea rating:
2/10
Would I re-read it? No
Who would I recommend it to? Fishing enthusiasts. I think that unless you really, really enjoy fishing, you won’t enjoy this book. That, or people who like straight-forward books. I mean, there was a beginning, a middle, and an end.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2165.The_Old_Man_and_the_Sea

