On the Hunt (Sentinel Wars #3.4, Nightkeepers #5.5, Gods of Midnight, #4.5)

Published in: 2010
Pages: 448
Edition read: E-book
Series: Book 3.4 in the Sentinel Wars, Book 5.5 in the Nightkeeper series, book 4.5 in the Gods of Midnight series

Book description:
In New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter’s Ever Night, Rose Pascal is swept into a dark, haunting world every year on her birthday – a world ruled by a warrior king who hunts her kind. Neither of them can deny the passion that soon consumes them both…In Shannon K. Butcher’s The Collector, demon hunter Neal Etan sets out to acquire a powerful artifact, but finds much more in beautiful Viviana Rowan. The antique dealer’s touch strengthens his magic – and her life may be in Neal’s hands if they don’t recover the artifact in time….
In Jessica Andersen’s Crystal Skull, archaeologist Natalie Albright’s dig gets shut down amid rumors she has awakened the local demons. But when the terrifying underworld creatures attack, Natalie must team up with her ex to survive. As they fight the ancient menace, they discover a destiny that binds them together – and threatens to tear them apart….
And in Deidre Knight’s Red Angel, Jamie Angel, leader of the deadly Nightshades, has tracked every kind of monster and demon that roams the darkness, but none of his experiences can prepare him for falling in love with one of the creatures he’s trained to destroy…

My review:
I actually loved every story in this anthology. Normally there is one that you read but it’s ho-hum, however this anthology was just awesome to read.

Gena Showalter -Evernight:
Really loved this story. It was amazing. Rose transports to this fantastic medieval like world on her birthday every year, and the king of the realm she first visited is super majorly hot, and the way they interact is just addictive to read. I’m super bummed this isn’t part of a series (At least, not one I am aware of?) cause if it was, I would devour that series like STAT.

Shannon K Butcher- The Collector
Neal and Viviana are the stereotypical polar-opposites- he’s a warrior mage, big and good with sharp pointy objects; she’s stereotypical nerd whose obsessed with antiques, wears glasses and white button-up shirts with tweed skirts. That was a bit annoying, but the story and how they ended up was really well written and fun to read. I liked the detail of the men having lifetrees, that was an interesting idea.

Jessica Andersen- Crystal Skull
The whole reason I read this book! The next installment in the Nightkeeper books, this was short and sweet and featured a romance between two Winikin, Natalie and JT. I liked that there wasn’t any actual Nightkeepers as it showed that the background players- the Winikin- were also able to find love and do good in the fight. Plus it introduced the baddies, the Camatotz, who feature a lot in future books and are nasty SOB’s.

Deidre Knight- Red Angel
So I read book 1 in this series a thousand years ago, loved it because the main character was named Shay (it’s rare I come across my name in a book!) and it was pretty kick-ass. This feature’s Shay’s brother Jaime, and an actual angel who he falls in love with, and it was pretty good to read. I just wished I had read the series up to this point, as there was a lot that happened that I didn’t know; plus I had to try and remember this world when I read the book 6 years ago!

Final review:
On The Hunt Rating:
8/10
Would I re-read it? Hells yes. I loved this anthology, and I plan on reading the related series so I’ll end up reading this again at least two more times.
Who would I recommend it to? For fans of any of these authors and their series, fans of paranormal romances.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8273005-on-the-hunt
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Hunt-Gena-Showalter/dp/0451232437

