The Importance of Being Earnest

Published in: 1899
Pages: 76
Edition read: E-book

book description:
Cecily Cardew and Gwendolen Fairfax are both in love with the same mythical suitor. Jack Worthing has wooed Gewndolen as Ernest while Algernon has also posed as Ernest to win the heart of Jack’s ward, Cecily. When all four arrive at Jack’s country home on the same weekend the “rivals” to fight for Ernest s undivided attention and the “Ernests” to claim their beloveds pandemonium breaks loose. Only a senile nursemaid and an old, discarded hand-bag can save the day!

My review:
First thing. Could not stop giggling at Algernon’s name, and kept having Brooklyn 99 running through my head (early in season 1, Jake has a mouse that lives in his desk that he calls Algernon. Hence, giggles). Second, this book was actually funny. Thirdly, I don’t understand why having a fake brother/friend living in the country and going to visit them is called a “Bunbury”, but we have a Bunbury down south that I kept imagining every time it was brought up.

This short read only took me a day to get through, but it was entertaining enough to keep me reading, it made me laugh a few times, and it was a refreshing break from the normal literature of this time period, which is kinda dull and serious and not as fun to read.

Final review:
The importance of being Earnest rating:
6.5/10
Would I re-read it? Yeah, it’s short enough to re-read easily and it was funny, so I’d give it another read through
Who would I recommend it to? Fans of classical literature, plays, funny short stories

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/92303.The_Importance_of_Being_Earnest
Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Importance_of_Being_Earnest

