Dawnkeepers (The Nightkeepers, #2)

Published in: 2008
Pages: 455
Edition read: E-book
Series: Book 2 in the Nightkeepers series

Book description:
Though a Nightkeeper, Nate Blackhawk refuses to allow others to control his fate. The gods have even tried to influence his love life, sending him visions of Alexis Gray, a sleek blonde who is everything he’s ever wanted in a woman.

The two warriors can’t deny their attraction. But a frightening vision leads Nate to distance himself in spite of the intense passion he feels. Thrown together once more, they must reassemble seven Mayan artifacts that hold the key to preventing the end of the world…

My review:
So after book 1, Strike and Leah’s story, I was wary about this book and how I hadn’t really clicked with the characters. Thankfully, I liked Nate and Alexis as people, Alexis had part of her story start in book 1 and I remember thinking she was way more interesting than Strike and Leah and why can’t the book be about her? So book 2 being about her and Nate was excellent. My only issue with their relationship was that it seemed to go around in circles for a while and was a bit painful to read the same Nate not being able to get over his commitment issues and Alexis not being able to get over her self-esteem issues. Eventually they sort themselves out and it’s all hunky dory, but it seemed like the book could have been cut by at least 100 pages if they didn’t rehash the same old argument every three pages or so.

Also, I hated Anna’s chapters in the book. Anna is Strike’s sister, who is a seer, but she is adamant that she won’t be involved in helping prevent the world from ending because she wants to be normal. Nevermind she is literally one of only 11 people who can help to save the world. She just doesn’t want to be, so she won’t be- and her chapters are her whinging about this constantly. She is a weak and pathetic character who I want to punch repeatedly and every time she turns up. If we can cut her out, or if someone could punch some sense into her, her story would get really good because with her beneficial visions, she could help the damn Nightkeepers! Anyway.

I have also now developed an obsession with Mayan mythology and Mayan culture, which features heavily throughout this series. I’ve done a bit of googling as a result and have to say, I am totally hooked on this. Like I need another ancient culture to obsess over! I wonder how many other books out there focus on the Mayans? I should look into that…

Final review:
Dawnkeepers rating:
7/10
Would I re-read it? Yeah I probably would
Who would I recommend it to: Fans of paranormal romance and fantasy series, mythology and ancient cultures, or Mayan culture.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/4498128-dawnkeepers
Author’s website: http://www.jessicaandersen.com/
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Dawnkeepers-Final-Prophecy-Book-2/dp/0451225759

 

