Killing Floor (Jack Reacher, #1)

Published in: 1997
Pages: 525
Edition read: Paperback
Series: Book 1 in the Jack Reacher series

Book description:
Ex-military policeman Jack Reacher is a drifter. He’s just passing through Margrave, Georgia, and in less than an hour, he’s arrested for murder. Not much of a welcome. All Jack knows is that he didn’t kill anybody. At least not here. Not lately. But he doesn’t stand a chance of convincing anyone. not in Margrave, Georgia. Not a chance in hell.

My review:
I was perusing Dad’s bookshelf and saw he had a few of the Jack Reacher novels, which I had been meaning to read one day- and thought to myself, why not today? Lucky for me, Dad had the first book in the series, so I was able to jump in at the beginning- I used to be able to pick up a book mid-series and get into it, but these days it’s book 1 or nothing.

This book was… look, it wasn’t bad, it was definitely readable (but definitely not believable), and the mystery of the money, that was blatantly obvious. I didn’t really like the character of Jack, he annoyed me, he killed casually and unnecessarily, he was in love with Roscoe but not in love with her? It was all very… first novel.

That being said, it wasn’t the worst first novel I’ve read, it was enjoyable and had a lot going on. I think the thing that may have annoyed me most about this was that Jack is a 6ft5 guy in the book… and I kept seeing the movie version of him, played by Tom Cruise. Who is 5ft7. I’m a head taller than the guy, for crying out loud. Do you know how frustrating it is to read a book and see Tom Cruise playing the main character, and have that main character meant to be over 6ft?

Final review:
Killing Floor rating: 6/10
Would I re-read it? Maybe. It wouldn’t be at the top of my to-re-read list though.
Who would I recommend it to? Fans of action mysteries.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/900486.Killing_Floor
Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Killing_Floor_(novel)
Author’s website: http://www.leechild.com/books/killing-floor.php
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com.au/Killing-Floor-Jack-Reacher-Book-ebook/dp/B0031RS2HC

