Dawn Study (Soulfinders, #3) Dawn Study (Soulfinders, #3; Study, #6) Dawn Study (Soulfinders, #3; Study, #6)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published in: 2017
Pages: 478
Edition read: Hardcover, Australian Fan Edition
Series: Book 6 & final book in the Study series, book 3 in the Soulfinders Trilogy

Book description:
Despite the odds, Yelena and Valek have forged an irrevocable bond and a family that transcends borders. Now, when their two homelands stand on the brink of war, they must fight with magic and cunning to thwart an Ixian plot to invade Sitia.
Yelena seeks to break the hold of the insidious Theobroma that destroys a person’s resistance to magical persuasion. But the Cartel is determined to keep influential citizens and Sitian diplomats in thrall and Yelena at bay. With every bounty hunter after her, Yelena is forced to make a dangerous deal.
With might and magic, Valek peels back the layers of betrayal surroundig the Commander. At its rotten core lies a powerful magician and his latest discovery. The fate of all rests upon two unlikely weapons. One may turn the tide. The other could spell the end of everything.

My review:
Why the three covers? Because look how pretty they are. This is one thing about this series that I adore, the covers of each edition of these books are gorgeous. Just look at them! The Australian one is the most dull simple with the black background, but even so it’s still pretty. I had to get the special fan edition that has tiny pictures of Maria’s fans that make up the image (it’s pretty cool), but now the hardcover doesn’t match the rest of my paperbacks! Ah book problems.

So. This book. Oh my gooooooooooddddddd this book. Where do I start? Well. It was amazing. Valek and Yelena are hands-down my alltime favourite characters, possibly ever. That’s saying something. I just adore them soooo much. The adventures these two get up to, its amazing. The love they share, it’s awe-inspiring.

Gushing aside, this book is told from multiple POVs and that makes for interesting reading, as we get the impressions of other characters like Valek, Leif, Janco, etc. It’s fun to read their perspectives, and it gives more variety to the story as we get all their adventures as well as Yelena’s. Yelena’s pregnancy is really awesome, seeing her progress but still kick-ass while waddling (could we expect any less from her?) and the ending is so sweet.

The only problem I have is that a swift conclusion seems to have been reached after such a buildup, it’s like 400 pages of building up to this massive plan, and then bam two pages and it’s done. Although I realise now that had Maria gone ahead and played out the plan in detail, it’d be another 300 pages (not that I’m complaining, bring on more story!).

So, I am now super sad that this series, that Yelena and Valek are now finished, and I won’t read anymore of their adventures! What am I to do with my life now? I mean, I couuulllddd re-read Poison Study again…

Final review:
Dawn Study rating:
100000000/10.
Study / Soulfinder series rating: 100000000/10.
Would I re-read it? Duh. Of course I will. Did you not read the gushy-gushy above? This book = love. This series = super love.
Who would I recommend it to? For fans of Maria’s other work, the Study or Soulfinder series, fans of fantasy books involving magic and epic adventure.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33976343-dawn-study
Author’s website: http://www.mariavsnyder.com/books.php
Harlequin books: http://www.harlequinbooks.com.au/product/9781489220899
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Dawn-Study-Maria-V-Snyder/dp/0778319857

