Night Study (Study, #5)

Published in: 2016
Pages: 448
Edition read: Paperback
Series: Book 5 in the Study series, book 2 in the Soulfinder Trilogy

Book description:
Ever since being kidnapped from the Illiais Jungle as a child, Yelena Zaltana’s life has been fraught with peril. But the recent loss of her Soulfinding abilities has endangered her more than ever before. As she desperately searches for a way to reclaim her magic, her enemies are closing in, and neither Ixia nor Sitia are safe for her anymore. Especially since the growing discord between the two countries and the possibility of a war threatens everything Yelena holds dear.

Valek is determined to protect Yelena, but he’s quickly running out of options. The Commander suspects that his loyalties are divided, and he’s been keeping secrets from Valek…secrets that put him, Yelena and all their friends in terrible danger. As they uncover the various layers of the Commander’s mysterious plans, they realise it’s far more sinister than they could have ever imagined.

My review:
Gaaah why have I finished this book? I have a month to wait til the next one comes out- January 23 it’s released in Australia. That’s FOREVER away. I read this book too quickly. I should have made it last an entire month, but alas I could only make it last 3 days before I’d finished it and then sat and stared at a wall and went “what now?”
Then googled the release date of the next book. Then stared at the wall some more, wondering if I could start another book yet.

Anyhoo. This was amazeballs. Sheer awesomeness. The book switches between the views of Yelena, Valek, Janco, and Lief. It is full of action and adventure and mystery and mayhem. We learn more about Valek’s past. We learn about his family, his parents. It was soooo good that I was simultaneously grinning, yelling at the book, and trying not to cry.

And also, Yelena. OMG. Her and Valek. Squee!!! I can’t actually type what I want to without spoilers, so… yeah. Yelena and Valek. Squee. That is all.

Basically, this was a damn good book to read. So much happens, all my characters are banding together again and they are working to make things better and all I can do is sit there and devour the book and now count down the days/hours/minutes until the next book is released. Only 25 days til Dawn Study is released. I only have to make it 25 days until I find out what happens to Yelena and Valek and Lief and Mara and Janco and Ari and eeeeeeveryone else.

Final review:
Night Study rating:
10/10. 100/10. 10,0000/10Would I re-read it? Yes. I have to restrain myself from reading the book again right now.
Who would I recommend it to? For fans of the author’s other work, anyone who has read either the Study or Glass trilogies, fans of paranormal romances and fantasy series.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27834845-night-study
Author’s website: http://www.mariavsnyder.com/news.php
Harlequin: http://www.harlequinbooks.com.au/product/9781760374440
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Night-Study-Maria-V-Snyder/dp/0778318753

Sidenote: OMG Maria has written a novella/book 4 of the Glass series, to be read by fans while waiting for Dawn Study to be released. OMFG. I need to download a copy right now. It’s another story about Opal?! How have I not heard about this before now?

