Bones to Ashes (Temperance Brennan, #10)

Published in: 2007
Pages: 310
Edition read: Paperback
Series: Book 10 in the Temperance Brennan series
Original review: Bones To Ashes by Kathy Reichs

Book description:
The discovery of a skeleton in Acadia, Canada, reawakens a traumatic episode for forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan: Could the young girl’s remains be those of Evangeline Landry, Tempe’s friend who disappeared when Tempe was twelve?

My review:
I read this years ago, and just like the  first read through, I  worked out the big old mystery disease that Tempe spent most of the book trying to work out. Either I’m smarter than I realise; or Tempe is an idiot. Seriously. I read the symptoms, went “ah it’s this disease” and then spend an excruciating amount of time reading Tempe go through wrong idea after wrong idea, while yelling at the book.

Apart from that, good book. love the childhood friend angle, that harry comes to help, and hate that Ryan breaks Tempe’s heart at the same time that Pete decides to marry a bimbo. It was too many hurts for too short amount of time, so I’m hoping this lasts only a book or so. Otherwise, how will this series continue without the Ryan romance angle?

So second read through, this was still a solid mystery, a great read, and just fun.

Final review
Original rating:
8/10
Updated rating:
8.5/10. It gained 0.5 in the ratings because now things made more sense than the first time around (I clearly had no clue about the Ryan/Pete thing the first time I read through, as my comment was “low amount of romance”. Well DUH.)
Would I re-read it? Yesssss
Who would I recommend it to? For fans of the author, fans of the television series, fans of crime/mystery/forensics/anthropology.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2527025.Bones_to_Ashes
Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bones_to_Ashes
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Bones-Ashes-Novel-Temperance-Brennan/dp/1416525653

