Goliath (Leviathan, #3)

Published in: 2011
Pages: 576
Edition read: E-book
Series: 3rd and final book in the Leviathan trilogy

Book description:
Alek and Deryn are abroad the Leviathan when the ship is ordered to pick up an unusual passenger. This brilliant/maniacal inventor claims to have a weapon called Goliath that can end the war. But whose side is he really on?
While on their top-secret mission, Alek finally discovers Deryn’s deeply kept secret. Two, actually. Not only is Deryn a girl disguised as a guy…she has feelings for Alek.
The crown, true love with a commoner, and the destruction of a great city all hang on Alek’s next–and final–move.

My  review:
Okay so this was damn good. Alek finally learns that Deryn is a girl, and I like how sweet they are, so young and innocent and cute in their blossoming romance. The story is also very good, the leviathan travels to Russia to save the mad Nikolas Tesla, to Japan, and to the United States. Japan was my  favourite, although brief it had the best description and the travelling noodle bar was awesome.

Also, Bovril is the best character ever. I want one. He’s a smart assed little dude who snickers over silly things, learns crazy-fast, and is the best pet/friend ever.

I’m now super bummed that the series is over, but I have hopes there might be future books. It wasn’t all quite wrapped up, there was plans made for the future of Alek and whether he is on the throne or not, and the future of Deryn and her career- so the hopeful in me is saying “there has to be another trilogy coming, right?!” okay maybe not, I’ve been trolling through the author’s blog and no mention of future books, but potentially more of the Uglies series- so that makes me happy.

Anyways, back to this book. This trilogy ruled, I forgot how much I love the author’s writing style, it’s fun and easy to read and full of action- you don’t get any boring moments, it’s just go-go-go and fantastic.

OMG. Sorry. There’s a bonus chapter on the author’s website, due to fan demand. A BONUS CHAPTER. http://scottwesterfeld.com/blog/2011/12/bonus-goliath-chapter-and-art/ If you wish to read it. It’s 3000 words, btw, but oh my god, soooooooo good. That small reminder of the series, characters, and BOVRIL, is enough to make me want to re-read the entire trilogy again.

Final review:
Goliath rating:
10/10
Leviathan trilogy rating: 10/10! Loved this trilogy
Would I re-read it? Yes, 100%. I loved this book and this series
Who would I recommend it to? To fans of the author and his other work, fans of young adult fiction, steampunk, alternative history.

Links:
Author’s website: http://scottwesterfeld.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9918083-goliath
Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goliath_(Westerfeld_novel)
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Goliath-Leviathan-Trilogy-Scott-Westerfeld/dp/1416971785

