Behemoth (Leviathan, #2)

Published in: 2010
Pages: 481
Edition read: E-book
Series: Leviathan book 2

Book description:
The behemoth is the fiercest creature in the British navy. It can swallow enemy battleships with one bite. The Darwinists will need it, now that they are at war with the Clanker powers.
Deryn is a girl posing as a boy in the British Air Service, and Alek is the heir to an empire posing as a commoner. Finally together aboard the airship Leviathan, they hope to bring the war to a halt. But when disaster strikes the Leviathan‘s peacekeeping mission, they find themselves alone and hunted in enemy territory.
Alek and Deryn will need great skill, new allies, and brave hearts to face what’s ahead.

My review:
GAH this book was so good, why didn’t I read this trilogy sooner?!?!?!?! Also, I need to find this book in hardcover, so I can proudly display these books on my bookshelf (on that note, also need to buy book 3 in hardcover). Anyhooooo

Deryn is the coolest little kick-ass heroine, Alek is awesome and I spend the entire book going “Is she gonna tell him now is she gonna tell him now is she gonna tell him now”… a few times, I thought she was gonna spill her secret. I just want Deryn and Alek to end up together, is that too much to ask of fictional 16 year olds in an alternate history fighting a war? Apparently so.

I really liked that they visited the Ottoman Empire, it sounded amazing and the author has such a way with words, he painted the city in rich vibrant colours that made me feel like I was really there. This book was just damn good.

Final review:
Behemoth rating: 9/10
Would I re-read it? YES!!!
Who would I recommend it to? Fans of the author, of alternate history/historical fiction, steampunk, young adult fantasy.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7826116-behemoth
Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Behemoth_(novel)
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Behemoth-Leviathan-Trilogy-Scott-Westerfeld/dp/1416971769
Author’s website: http://scottwesterfeld.com/books/leviathan/

