Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children
Published in: 2011
Pages: 384
Edition read: Paperback
Series: Book 1 in the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series

Book description:
A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs. It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow-impossible though it seems-they may still be alive.

My review:
I read this book thinking the author was a female- it was literally the ‘about the author’ section at the end where I read that he is in fact male, and went “whoops, sorry dude, thought you were a chick”. My bad. I also picked up this book literally because the movie just came out and it looks amazing (and has Eva Green in it, she’s awesome. I have to see it because she’s in it!).

The bad things: The pictures in this book scared me. They are creepy as hell. The twins, they freak me out- and they aren’t actually in the book, there’s pictures of them but they aren’t mentioned as actual characters (and yet, they are in the movie. Way to go, consistency). Also, in the book, Emma is a girl who creates fire in the palm of her hand; in the movie, she’s the floating girl. Consistency is not their strong suit.

The good things: this is fun to read, it’s such an imaginative story, fast moving, exciting, fun, totally unique with the mix of creepy photos and story. It was fun and an adventure and I can see kids loving this book and the movie adaptation. Although I wouldn’t be encouraging young kids to get into this, this is more a young adult book as there is a little bit of language and serious themes.

Anyways, having finished the book, I now need to see the movie. I also had one of those reader moments today that I hadn’t experienced yet. I was talking about this movie and book with friends at a party, we spoke about wanting to see the movie, I mentioned I was reading the book and a friend casually says “So I guess you won’t see the movie til you finish the book, how many pages do you have left?” I replied “about a hundred or so, probably finish it tonight” to which he expressed shock that I could not only finish 100 pages tonight, but that I’d want to. Ah, non-readers, you amuse me sometimes. 100 pages is nothing to a reader!

Final review:
Miss Peregrine’s rating:
6/10. It lost points for the creepy pictures that scare me
Would I re-read it? Yes, but I’d like a version that doesn’t have pictures included, which is pointless as the book relies on the pictures. I really liked the story! But those creepy old pictures… no thanks.
Who would I recommend it to? People who want to see the movie, as always I recommend reading the book first. People interested in young adult fiction, fantasy, time travel fiction.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26150650-miss-peregrine-s-home-for-peculiar-children
Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miss_Peregrine%27s_Home_for_Peculiar_Children
Book depository: https://www.bookdepository.com/Miss-Peregrines-Home-for-Peculiar-Children-Ransom-Riggs/9781594746031

