Dracula

Published in: 1897
Pages: 488
Edition read: E-book

Book description:
When Jonathan Harker visits Transylvania to help Count Dracula with the purchase of a London house, he makes horrifying discoveries about his client and his castle. Soon afterwards, a number of disturbing incidents unfold in England: an unmanned ship is wrecked at Whitby; strange puncture marks appear on a young woman’s neck; and the inmate of a lunatic asylum raves about the imminent arrival of his ‘Master’.

My review:
Always wanted to read this, but I’ve held off for years because I thought it might ruin my love for vampire stories. My best friend read this and said it was crap, so I was really apprehensive going in. However, she was wrong- this book was good. It wasn’t the horror story that I expected, but it was intriguing, had memorable characters, and a decent plot.

The story is told through journals of the main characters, which means you have to keep track of which character’s journal you’re reading each time, but apart from that it’s fairly easy to follow the story and events. We see Mina’s point of view, as the victim of Dracula; as well as Jonathan her husband, who is the first person to meet Dracula in the story; as well as Van Helsing, who I have to say was a weird character that I didn’t quite expect- he’s portrayed in quite a quirky manner in this book.

All in all, this was a really great book and I’m glad I’ve read it finally!

Final review:
Dracula rating:
8/10
Would I re-read it? Yes, it was a really great book
Who would I recommend it to? People interested in literature, fans of the paranormal or horror genres, people who like vampire stories, anyone whose seen any move adaptation and is curious of how the book goes.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15756620-dracula
Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dracula
Read free online at: http://www.gutenberg.org/files/345/345-h/345-h.htm

