Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

Published in: 1865
Pages: 132
Edition read: E-book
Book #: Book 1 in Alice’s adventures in Wonderland

Book description:
The story of a little girl who fell down a rabbit hole and found herself in Wonderland.

My review:
Sorry about the book description, but everyone I found waxed lyrical about the symbolism present in the book. Yawn. Besides, pretty much everyone knows the story or some aspect of it. It’s a cult classic.

I had read part of the book back when I was 6, but as a 6 year old, I preferred the Disney movie version and moved on to read other books about dollhouses or whatever. Reading the book in full, it was familiar and fun and I can see the draw of the story for young and old alike. But I think what I love about this book wasn’t the actual book itself; it’s the hundreds of interpretations that it has spawned. I love the Disney animated movie version of this book. I love the rides it’s spawned at Disneyland. I loved the recent live-action version of the stories where Alice is grown up and Johnny Depp is the mad hatter. I love that people can quote this book at each other and we all know what they are quoting. Why is a raven like a writing desk? I like to think of up to 6 impossible things before breakfast. Etc.

The book is magical, it inspires the imagination, but it has the power to linger long after you’ve read or viewed it, and it’s wormed its way into everyday life. People are continually inspired by it, people are continually interpreting it in new and different ways. The story has grown into a life of it’s own, and it’s wonderful.

Final review:
Alice’s adventures in wonderland rating:
8.5/10.
Would I re-read it? Yes
Who would I recommend it to? Children, adults, teenagers, the cynical, the happy, the lost, the found. Everyone.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2647293-alice-s-adventures-in-wonderland
Being that this book is over 100 years old, you can legally download this e-book anywhere for free.

 

