Mary Poppins (Mary Poppins, #1)

Published in: 1934
Pages: 209
Edition read: E-book
Book #: Book 1 in the Mary Poppins series

Book description:
From the moment Mary Poppins arrives at Number Seventeen Cherry-Tree Lane, everyday life at the Banks house is forever changed.

It all starts when Mary Poppins is blown by the east wind onto the doorstep of the Banks house. She becomes a most unusual nanny to Jane, Michael, and the twins. Who else but Mary Poppins can slide up banisters, pull an entire armchair out of an empty carpetbag, and make a dose of medicine taste like delicious lime-juice cordial? A day with Mary Poppins is a day of magic and make-believe come to life!

My review:
Well the Mary Poppins in this book is shitting all over my childhood memories of the movie version of Mary Poppins. I love Mary Poppins, the movie, where Mary is portrayed by Julie Andrews. The book version is a vain, shallow, mean, irritating bitch. It is stated, many times, that she likes nothing more than to stare at her reflection in shop windows and admire her looks. She is mean to the children, downright rude to anybody who dares speak to her or even give her a compliment… she is a thoroughly dislikeable character.

All I gotta say is thank god for Julie Andrews. She made a terrible character great, and it seems she had little to work with, if this is the material they are drawing from. The children, Jane and Michael, and the twins John and Barbara, are sweet kids and I like their adventures (although the story about the dancing cow… what the hell was that about?) but overall, the book is soured by the main character Mary Poppins, who is too busy admiring her reflections in any shiny surface to try using manners.

I wanted to like this book, but I just couldn’t, and that makes me sad. I hate to say that the movie is better, but it is. I get warm fuzzies from the movie, I get irritation from this book and the urge to smack Mary Poppins in her stupid face.

Final review:
Mary Poppins rating:
4/10
Would I re-read it? ergh… no. I will stick with the movie from now on, although I have started the second book and so far it is better as Mary seems to be a little less of a bitch. Then again, I’m only three pages into it, so we will see.
Who would I recommend it to? If you don’t like the movie, then maybe try the book. Otherwise, if you too adore the movie version, I’d be wary of cracking open the book because book Mary Poppins is a horrid cow of a woman. But from reading reviews on goodreads, it seems you either love this book, or you hate Book Mary Poppins so much that you can’t stand the book because it shits on the movie version we grew up with and loved. So… yeah. Be wary when starting this book.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/152380.Mary_Poppins
Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mary_Poppins

