The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #2)

Published in: 2006
Pages: 279
Edition read: E-book
Book #: Book 2 in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series

Book description:
Percy Jackson’s seventh-grade year has been surprisingly quiet. Not a single monster has set foot on his New York prep-school campus. But when an innocent game of dodgeball among Percy and his classmates turns into a death match against an ugly gang of cannibal giants, things get . . . well, ugly. And the unexpected arrival of Percy’s friend Annabeth brings more bad news: the magical borders that protect Camp Half-Blood have been poisoned by a mysterious enemy, and unless a cure is found, the only safe haven for demigods will be destroyed.

My review:
I wish I’d read these books as a 12 year old. I wish these books had been around when I was 12. I would have devoured them, been obsessed with them. Greek mythology, young relateable heroes, humour… it’s all my kind of thing. But no, I have to be rather old and these books had to come out when I was 18 and a little out of their target audience, which doesn’t really explain why 10 years later I’m now reading them.

Anyways. The story was good. I’ve seen the movie version of this book as well (and I also enjoyed that one. So sue me, I like the movies). So I knew what was happening in the story, but it was still fun to read.

My favourite part of these books so far is the mythology. I’m a little rusty on all my Greek gods and myths, but reading this on my Kobo means that I can highlight a word and it pops up in the dictionary, telling me in basic terms what the myth or god is. Pretty awesome!

Final review:
The sea of Monsters rating:
7/10
Would I re-read it? Maybe, but I feel I’m a little old for the books. Hard to relate to a 13 year old when you’re nearing 30…
Who would I recommend it to? Children and teenagers, anyone interested in Greek Mythology.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28186.The_Sea_of_Monsters
Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Sea_of_Monsters
Author’s website: http://www.rickriordan.com/books/percy-jacksons-world/percy-jackson-and-the-olympians/the-sea-of-monsters

