The Curious Case of the Werewolf That Wasn't, the Mummy That Was, and the Cat in the Jar

Published in: 2014
Pages: 32
Edition read: E-book
Book #: Prequel, or book 0.5 in the Parasol Protectorate series

Book Description:
A short tale of mummies, werewolves, and well preserved felines set in the world of the Parasol Protectorate.

Alessandro Tarabotti and his valet, Floote, are on a mission in Egypt when they encounter visiting tourists and things go all pie shaped. What is his real mission and will his Aunt Archangelica approve of his treatment of her cat?

My review:
So I’ve not read anything else in this series before and figured I’d start with the prequel- bad idea. This book ought to be read after you’ve read the rest of the series, as you know who Alessandro is and why we care about him, and the circumstances in this book have more meaning, especially after reading book 5 of the series.

In saying that, this was not a bad read. It got me into the way Gail writes, how the world is setup in these books, the characters I would eventually get to know in future books, though it took me the longest time to realise the Floote in this book is the Floote in the rest of the series, embarassingly enough.

Final review:
TCCOTWTW,TMTW,ATCITJ rating:
5/10. Not bad, but I think reading this after the series would have garnered a better rating.
Would I re-read it? Having read it once, that was enough for me this time around. However if I re-read the rest of the series, then I’d definitely re-read this- but after the rest of the books!
Who would I recommend it to? Fans of the Parasol Protectorate series, this is basically for you guys as it gives background on Alessandro and Floote that we don’t get in the series. Everyone else- you can read it, but I’d recommend the series first.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22611728-the-curious-case-of-the-werewolf-that-wasn-t-the-mummy-that-was-and-th
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com.au/Curious-Werewolf-Wasnt-Parasol-Protectorate-ebook/dp/B00LEWYNXS
Author’s website: http://gailcarriger.blogspot.com.au/2013/09/the-book-of-dead-new-parasol.html

