Blood Noir (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #16)

Published in: 2007
Pages: 340
Edition read: Paperback
Book #: Book 16 in the Anita Blake series

Book description:
A favor for Jason, vampire hunter Anita Blake’s werewolf lover, puts her in the center of a fullblown scandal that threatens master-vampire Jean- Claude’s reign, and makes her a pawn in an ancient vampire queen’s new rise to power.

My review:
This was the first book of the Anita Blake series that I ever read. I remember hating it. There was too much sex, not enough story, and nothing happened. A second read-through, now that I’ve read the rest of the series, and the book isn’t what I thought it was the first time around.

Okay, so theres a lot of sex, there’s not much story, but having read the others, I now understand that the weird orgy between Anita, Jason, and two weretigers happened because Mother Darkness screwed with Anita. I know who Mother Darkness is, why this is a thing, what she gains from screwing with Anita in this way… I totally understand because I have the backstory to back it all up.

I could have done with more storyline, of course, but the story that was there was interesting. It was interesting that Jason was why Anita gets kidnapped for once, and it’s nice to learn about his character as he’s been around for quite a while, as a background character but never a major player. Now he is.

Final review:
Blood Noir rating:
7.5/10.
Would I re-read it? Yeah I might
Who would I recommend it to? Fans of the series, but as I have learnt, you will enjoy this book more if you’ve read some of the previous books, to get that missing background that sheds light on why Anita’s acting like the village bicycle- which is not her fault.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2149535.Blood_Noir
Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blood_Noir
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Blood-Anita-Vampire-Hunter-Series/dp/1501239325
Author’s website: http://www.laurellkhamilton.org/works/anita-blake/blood-noir/

