Micah (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, #13)

Published in: 2006
Pages: 245
Edition read: Paperback
Book #: Book 13 in the Anita Blake series

Book description:
There are lots of reasons to raise the dead-some private, some public. In this case, the feds have a witness who died before he could speak on the record. They want him raised so his testimony can be taken. So here I am, on a plane to Philadelphia, flying off to do my job.

But I’m not alone. Micah is with me. Micah, head of the St. Louis wereleopard pard. King to my Queen. The only one of my lovers who can stir my blood with just a glance from his chartreuse cat’s eyes. I was happy to have him at my side.

Until he mentioned that this will be our first time alone together. No Master Vampire. No Alpha Werewolf. Just me and Micah. And all my fears and doubts…

My review:
What even was this?

Seriously. We didn’t need this book. It adds nothing to the series. Nothing happens. You want to know the story? Anita and Micah fly to Philadelphia. Anita freaks out because ‘she will be alone with Micah’. Micah rents a nice hotel room, and they have sex. Then Anita and Micah travel to a cemetary to raise a zombie, weird Anita hoodoo-woowoo magic happens. The end!

That is literally the extent of this story. And even though it is a short story (short in the Laurell K Hamilton world, anyway) and there is literally only three scenes in the entire book (plane, hotel room sex, graveyard zombie raising) Laurell has still managed to cram in a major sex scene that last a lot of pages, and then a bunch of Anita’s inner-monologue-bullshit that is just dull to read. Anita is powerful, she hates the ‘metaphysical shit’, her life isn’t what she expected, she has too many boyfriends… yurgh. So over reading this.

Final review:
Micah rating:
4/10. I just didn’t see the point of the book.
Would I re-read it? No
Who would I recommend it to? Err… fans of the series. If you haven’t read any of the previous books in the series, especially books 10-onwards, then do not pick this book up.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30228.Micah
Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Micah_%28novel%29
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Micah-Anita-Blake-Vampire-Hunter/dp/0515140872
Author’s website: http://www.laurellkhamilton.org/works/anita-blake/micah/
Also, sidenote: I have been pronouncing (and continue to pronounce) “Micah” wrong. I say “mee-cah” when in actual fact, it’s pronounced “My-cahh”. Who knew?

