Obsidian Butterfly (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, #9)

Published in: 2000
Pages: 690
Edition read: Paperback
Book #: Book 9 in the Anita Blake series
Link to my original review: https://shaniquerae.wordpress.com/2011/12/18/obsidian-butterfly-by-laurell-k-hamilton/

Book Description:
There are a lot of monsters in Anita Blake’s life. And some of them are human. One such individual is the man she calls Edward, a bounty hunter who specializes in the preternatural. He calls her to help him hunt down the greatest evil she has ever encountered. Something that kills and maims and vanishes into the night. Something Anita will have to face alone…

My review:
So I read this 4 years ago, and I loved it back then. Now that I’ve read the rest of the series up to this point, I thought I’d revisit it (at nearly 700 pages, why do I do this to myself?) and it was still good- better actually, now I had the background to back everything up. This book is noted by fans of Anita Blake as being the last good book of the series. Yes, the next books are still good, but not as good. A different kind of good. This is the last one that has actual storyline, and no sex scenes. The rest of the series are a write-off, as they are just sex scenes interrupted by a few lines of dialogue, or so I’ve heard.

This book has action, adventure, kick-ass characters, psychotic vampires who think they are Aztec gods, werewolves and shareshifters and a monster made only of the dried heads of werewolves and a weird dragon peacock creature, and skinned zombies, and so many psychotics living under one roof. It features my favourite character of the entire series- Edward. Edward is a psycho but damn he is awesome, in a please-dont-kill-me kinda way. I don’t know why we all like his character, but we do. He is shown to have a heart, and he has a family kinda, and it’s a little bit awesome to see the man christened as Death among the supernatural of the series, he actually has a softer side. He actually really cares for the kids and Donna, and we love him for it.

Plus, the action in this book. over 600 pages and not a dull moment. Bloody brilliant. Why didn’t Laurell keep writing books like this? Books like this would have made this series a knock-out. But noooo.

Final review:
Obsidian Butterfly re-rating:
9/10. Definitely awesome
Would I re-read it? Yes, I would read it a third time, for sure. Loved it.
Who would I recommend it to? Fans of the series, fans of paranormal books. Anyone who has read the books of this series post book 9 needs to go back and read the books prior to book 9, because I promise you, they are like a completely different series. Anita is so much cooler in books 1-9, you see where the cult following of the series came from, why they stick around and hope for a return to the books of old.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1028258.Obsidian_Butterfly
Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Obsidian_Butterfly
Author’s website: http://www.laurellkhamilton.org/works/anita-blake/obsidian-butterfly/

