Blue Moon (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, #8)

Published in: 1998
Pages: 371
Edition read: E-book
Book #: Book 8 in the Anita Blake series

Book description:
When she chose master vampire Jean-Claude over her ex-fiancé, alpha werewolf Richard Zeeman, Anita learned that sometimes love is not enough. But though she and Richard won’t be walking down any aisles, she can’t turn her back on him when he’s arrested on a rape charge in Tennessee. Anita knows firsthand that Richard has the morals of a saint—or at least a boy scout. But his guilt or innocence is not the issue. He’s behind bars, and in five days a full moon will rise…

My review:
So last book, Anita comes to her senses and picks Jean-Claude and does the nasty with him. Yay! This book, she’s off to rescue Richard because she still has feelings for him, and its kinda annoying really- just stick with the damn vampire. But no, we have to go to a weird little town in the middle of nowhere to save Richard, make friends with another wolf pack, kill a bunch of evil vampires, screw her relationships up even more, and so on.

Anita really doesn’t make her life easy for herself, and yet… the books are addictive to read. This was no exception, it was hard to put the book down once I’d started it. I wasn’t too fond of Anita and Richard becoming closer in this book, as I am totally not team-Richard (I always pick the vampires when there’s a supernatural love-triangle. Always) but I don’t mind the new wolf and leopard friends Anita keeps making. I just don’t particularly like Richard- he’s a bit annoying.

My only real complaint in this book is the lack of Jean-Claude in it. He’s in the book for a few pages at the beginning, and that’s it. I don’t get to hear about his ridiculously frilly shirts or his love of excessive over-the-knee boots, and that makes me rather sad.

Final review:
Blue Moon rating:
7/10
Would I re-read it? I would, the books are still really quite good in this series, as we haven’t hit the point where they turn from stories into smut yet.
Who would I recommend it to? Fans of the series, people interested in paranormal romance, shapeshifters, vampires, and strong female characters.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30246.Blue_Moon
Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blue_Moon_%28Hamilton_novel%29
Author’s website: http://www.laurellkhamilton.org/works/anita-blake/blue-moon/
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Blue-Anita-Blake-Vampire-Hunter/dp/0515134457
Googlebooks: https://books.google.com.au/books/about/Blue_Moon.html?id=AsoCo7e3_AcC&redir_esc=y

