Gone with the Wind

Published in: 1936
Pages: 1009
Edition read: E-Book

Book description:
Set against the dramatic backdrop of the American Civil War, Margaret Mitchell’s epic love story is an unforgettable tale of love and loss, of a nation mortally divided and its people forever changed. At the heart of all this chaos is the story of beautiful, ruthless Scarlett O’Hara and the dashing soldier of fortune, Rhett Butler.

My review:
I literally just finished this and had to get my feelings down quickly. This book… I LOVED IT. I know little of the American Civil War, it is something that we never studied in school here (I’m Australian, we don’t learn much about American History). So it was a fascinating book because it was a subject I had no clue about- I Wikipedia’d a lot of this book to see if these things actually happened. Scarlett is a crap character, she’s self-absorbed, cynical, bratty, annoying, whinging, she’s just so unlikeable as a heroine. And yet, I still wanted her to get everything she could out of her life. Especially Rhett. I wanted them to work out sooooooooo much.

Rhett. I love him. He is the best character of the book, although I found him to be an asshole at the end. But prior to that, he was awesome as hell, he is what makes this book so good.

There is a serious amount of death in this book, I kept getting attached to characters and then they’d die. I never saw the last death at the end coming, that made me cry sooo much.

It is a long book, it took me the best part of a week and a half to read, and I spent a lot of time at work thinking about the book and itching to get home to read more of it. I also really wanted to learn more about this period of time and the things that happened and spent a good hour just googling things from this time and learning about it. Especially how the city of Atlanta would have looked, trying to imagine the story and how it fit in with this.

Overall, it was a fascinating book with such a vast array of rich characters and a fantastic story interwoven with bits of history, and I really want to read it again. I also think we have a paperback version somewhere in the house but for the life of me, I cannot find it. I also now desperately want to see the movie, which I never have seen, because I bet it’s amazing. How couldn’t it be, when the story is as great as this?

Final review:
Gone With The Wind rating:
10/10. I understand now why this won a Pulitzer.
Would I re-read it? Hells yes. I want to find the paperback version in the house and read that now. It’d come with less spelling errors than my e-reader version (spent the first two chapters going “is that guy’s name Pork or Poke? Turns out, it was Pork. Had both spellings though in my edition)
Who would I recommend it to? For anyone who is interested in this period of time, anyone who has seen the movie and liked it, anyone interested in epic love stories that don’t have a necessarily happy ending, really anyone. I think people should read this book because it is good, damn good, and I fully endorse good books.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/237241.Gone_with_the_Wind
Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gone_with_the_Wind
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Gone-Wind-Margaret-Mitchell/dp/1416548947
Project Gutenberg free e-book: http://gutenberg.net.au/ebooks02/0200161p.pdf
In my search for links, I came across the Author’s obituary. She released this book in 1936, and died 13 years later. I wonder, had she lived, would she have released a sequel? I would love to know if Scarlett ever gets Rhett back or not…. oh, if only people didn’t drink drive, then maybe this great author would have lived and I would have my answers 😦

