Published in: 2005
Pages: 652
Edition read: Hardcover
Book #: Book 6 in the Harry Potter series

Book description:
It is the middle of the summer, but there is an unseasonal mist pressing against the windowpanes. Harry Potter is waiting nervously in his bedroom at the Dursleys’ house in Privet Drive for a visit from Professor Dumbledore himself. One of the last times he saw the Headmaster was in a fierce one-to-one duel with Lord Voldemort, and Harry can’t quite believe that Professor Dumbledore will actually appear at the Dursleys’ of all places. Why is the Professor coming to visit him now? What is it that cannot wait until Harry returns to Hogwarts in a few weeks’ time? Harry’s sixth year at Hogwarts has already got off to an unusual start, as the worlds of Muggle and magic start to intertwine…

My Review:
So this is possibly one of the worst books of the series…. wait, no I hate the first book more. This is the second worst of the series, because not much really seems to happen. I mean, things do happen, the Half-Blood Prince mystery is kinda cool, and Harry’s developing feelings towards Ginny is kinda interesting… but not much else really seems to happen. You get really frustrated, and then in the last two chapters suddenly everything happens and it’s just like… I waited 600 pages for this, why couldn’t you have moved up the action a few hundred pages?

Needless to say, the book took a while to read as I just wasn’t interested in it. I’d read a few pages, get bored and start playing solitaire on my phone. It means that now my super-huge book lead I had on my reading challenge this year has kinda died (I was like 10 books ahead of schedule, now I’m only 4).

It does have good moments of course, but it felt somewhat drawn out, and given this is really the last time the gang has a normal year at Hogwarts, it would have been nice if it had been a little more interesting. The ending is a big one though, and I understand that the book is building towards this moment and the boring parts are necessary. Just wish it was somewhat more entertaining, as it seems a bit of a letdown after a few seriously excellent books prior to this.

Final review:
HP and the Half Blood Prince rating:
7/10. The last chapters are excellent, but the build up before hand drags a bit.
Would I re-read it? I think I would, but if I had to chose books to read out of this series again, I’d chose other books over this.
Who would I recommend it to? Fans of the series- if you’ve read any of the books, or seen any of the movies, you should read this book. Otherwise, it is suitable for children and young adults.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1.Harry_Potter_and_the_Half_Blood_Prince
Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harry_Potter_and_the_Half-Blood_Prince
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Harry-Potter-Half-Blood-Prince-Book/dp/0439785960
Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/harry-potter-and-the-half-blood-prince-j-k-rowling/1100079342?ean=9780439784542

