Julie and Julia: 365 Days, 524 Recipes, 1 Tiny Apartment Kitchen: How One Girl Risked Her Marriage, Her Job, and Her Sanity to Master the Art of Living

Published in: 2005
Pages: 310
Edition read: Paperback

Book description:
Nearing 30 and trapped in a dead-end secretarial job, Julie Powell reclaims her life by cooking every single recipe in Julia Child’s legendary Mastering the Art of French Cooking in the span of one year. It’s a hysterical, inconceivable redemptive journey – life rediscovered through aspics, calves’ brains and crème brûlée.

My review:
I remember going to see this movie at the cinemas with friends, when it first came out, not knowing who Julia Child was. I walked out loving the movie, the actors and the characters, and intrigued by this Julia Child. When I heard this movie was based on a book, I knew I had to read it.

So when I came across the book in one of my favourite second-hand-bookstores, going out for a steal at $2, I knew I had to have it, and I had to read it, immediately.

The book is good, I do wish I had read that first before the movie, but no matter. I liked the little bits about what Julia’s life may have been like, and I am really intrigued by the cookbook that inspired all this- I’ve seen it in bookstores, but never actually looked in the book itself. I think my next stop after finishing this book is to borrow a copy of the cookbook from the library, and then hunting down a Julia Child biography, so I can really appreciate this book.

Final review:
Julie and Julia rating:
7/10. It was an interesting book that spawned a good movie.
Would I re-read it? Yeah I will read it again, after having read a Julia Child biography or two, and having checked out the cookbook. I want to see if this knowledge would enhance this book a little more.
Who would I recommend it to? If you have seen the movie, then I recommend reading the book. If not, then this is for fans of french cooking, women having quarter-life-crises, anyone who is stuck in a rut and not sure what to do to get out of it. It’s one of those kinds of books that makes you go “you know what? I can do something like that, it doesn’t seem that hard” and it’s that kind of thinking that gets you into your next best project.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13746.Julie_and_Julia
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Julie-Julia-Year-Cooking-Dangerously/dp/B003ZK50VG
Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Julie_%26_Julia
The blog that spawned the book that spawned the movie: https://web.archive.org/web/20021205150924/http://blogs.salon.com/0001399/ (it’s an interesting read, I can easily lose a few hours just reading through the entries)

