Marked by Midnight (Midnight Breed #11.5)

Published in: 2014
Pages: 146
Edition read: E-book
Book #: Book 11.5 in the Midnight Breed series

Book description:
Determined to solve a string of brutal slayings in London, vampire warrior Mathias Rowan is forced to seek the help of Nova, a fiery tattoo artist who ignites an unexpected, yet undeniable, passion in the grim Order enforcer.

Nova’s shadowy connections and dark talents may be Mathias’s best hope of unmasking a treacherous enemy . . . but falling for a woman with her dangerous past will risk both their hearts and their lives.

My review:
This book was really good! Finally, a character that I knew from before the series jumped forward 20 years into the future and I had to read about characters that were previously children and now jumping each other’s bones… still not quite used to that.

Mathias is a character we don’t learn much about in the series, but it was nice he got his own little story, and his match is this little tattoo artist, who I quite liked learning about, as I used to have a mass fascination with tattoos and tattoo artists, a few years back (I myself do not own tattoos, as I am a wimp when it comes to pain, but the whole process fascinates me) so this was a character I totally could imagine, who was quite unique in this series of books, and that I could actually see myself being friends with. She felt real, which was nice.

The story is short but sweet, the story is fast moving and quite action packed, and the romance between Mathias and Nova is the level we come to expect from this series.

Final review:
Marked by Midnight rating:
8/10. Great little novella between the books, and a definite improvement character-wise over the previous one. Helped with the transition to the whole “20-years-in-the-future” thing that I still can’t get used to.
Would I re-read it? Yes
Who would I recommend it to? Definitely a ‘fans of the series’ thing. It’s a novella, so it’s meant to be a teaser for the fans, keep them entertained while waiting for the next book. Even though, it could be read by a newb to the series, as the world is explained enough that you can grasp what is happening. So for fans of paranormal romances heavy on the vampires.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22008590-marked-by-midnight
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com.au/Marked-Midnight-Breed-Novella-Series-ebook/dp/B00JVWNSA2
Author’s website: http://www.laraadrian.com/books/marked_by_midnight.php
Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/marked-by-midnight-lara-adrian/1119881254?ean=2940149784325

