The Hobbit (Middle-Earth Universe)

Published in: 1937
Pages: 365
Edition read:
Paperback

Book description:
Bilbo Baggins was a hobbit who wanted to be left alone in quiet comfort. But the wizard Gandalf came along with a band of homeless dwarves. Soon Bilbo was drawn into their quest, facing evil orcs, savage wolves, giant spiders, and worse unknown dangers. Finally, it was Bilbo–alone and unaided–who had to confront the great dragon Smaug, the terror of an entire countryside . . .

My review:
The entire reason I read this was because I have never seen any of the LOTR or the Hobbit movies, and for some reason, my dad decided that we’d all, as a family, hit the cinemas and watch the latest instalment in the Hobbit movies. To which I yelled “But I haven’t read the books yet” and then added “or seen the movies”… but was mostly concerned I hadn’t read the book. Hence, dug out well-worn family copy of the book and sat down to read it.

I don’t quite know what it is, but I wasn’t a fan of this book.
I don’t quite get the hype, but dad assured me that the LOTR books were much more action-packed (which will be my next target, having now finished this book). And I know the movies are meant to be great.

But as far as this book went, it was meh to me. I struggled with the names of people (someone or rather came back! wait, who is this guy? Wasn’t he part of the band of 14? oh wait no, he was this guy who turned into a bear. right) and it just didn’t draw me into the story. Looking back now, it was interesting and things did happen, but while I was reading it, I struggled and had to force myself to get through the pages. So… bring on the movie now. I am ready, I have the basic understanding of the story, let’s build on it.

Final review:
The Hobbit rating:
6/10.
Would I re-read it? I don’t really think it was my kind of book, sadly. So no.
Who would I recommend it to? Fans of LOTR, fans of the movies. This is a childrens book, and I think young boys will really enjoy the book.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15329.The_Hobbit
Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Hobbit
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/The-Hobbit-J-R-R-Tolkien/dp/0618968636

