Let the Right One In

Published in: 2004
Pages: 513
Edition read: E-reader

Book description:
It is autumn 1981 when the inconceivable comes to Blackeberg, a suburb in Sweden. The body of a teenage boy is found, emptied of blood, the murder rumored to be part of a ritual killing. Twelve-year-old Oskar is personally hoping that revenge has come at long last—revenge for the bullying he endures at school, day after day.

But the murder is not the most important thing on his mind. A new girl has moved in next door—a girl who has never seen a Rubik’s Cube before, but who can solve it at once. There is something wrong with her, though, something odd. And she only comes out at night….
My review:
Well, this is sadly the last book I’ll ever read on my beloved Sony E-reader, before some heartless bastard steals my handbag from under my desk at work while I am at lunch one Friday afternoon (I hope the bastard rots in hell for stealing my bag and my e-reader and my iPod).

I’ve seen 3/4 of the movie a few years ago (the one in Swedish, I had the subtitles on of course) and thought it was kinda awesome. I knew it was a book back then, but wanted to see the movie anyways. So when I finally got around to reading this, I was kinda excited. It was gonna be an awesome horror story about vampires in Sweden, which has a wicked dark element to it because of the setting….

It was not scary. At all. I felt ill about reading the “piss ball” (note: Do not read this book while eating) but I didn’t feel scared or horrified or really anything. I also felt bored, as there is a lot of boring parts to this story. So overall, I was kinda rather disappointed. The story should have been great, should have been creepy and full of twisted vampires and the twisted humans they interact with… but nup. Just boring.

Final review:
Let the right one in rating:
3/10. I am majorly disappointed by this book.
Would I re-read it? No.
Who would I recommend it to? Erm… people who have seen the movie. Not recommended for people looking for a horror story, because this isn’t really horror. It’s just kinda boring and a little weird.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/943402.Let_the_Right_One_In
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Let-Right-One-In-Novel/dp/0312355297

