Midnight Awakening (Midnight Breed, #3)

Published in: 2001
Pages: 369
Edition read: E-Book
Book #: Book 3 in the Midnight Breed series

Book Description:
With a dagger in her hand and vengeance on her mind, Darkhaven beauty Elise Chase prowls Bostons streets in search of retribution against the Rogue vampires who took from her everything she cherished. Using an extraordinary psychic gift, she tracks her prey, well aware that the power she possesses is destroying her. She must learn to harness this gift, and for that she can turn to only one man the deadliest of the Breed warriors, Tegan.

No stranger to loss, Tegan knows Elises pain. He knows fury, but when he slays his enemies it is with ice in his veins. He is perfect in his self-control, until Elise seeks his aid in her personal war. An unholy alliance is forged a bond that will link them by blood and vow and plunge them into a tempest of danger, desire, and the darkest passions of the heart. . .

My review:
Yay Tegan ends up with a mate! Since book 1, I have been intrigued by his character and the sad story of how he lost his wife/breedmate some 500 years ago, and hadn’t moved on. It was both sweet and sad, and I really wanted him to end up with someone awesome. Elise is a character I rather liked, as she came from a privileged background, lost both her husband and her son, and then ends up with Tegan and it’s awesome. Plus she’s kinda kick-ass, going around hunting minions in revenge for her son’s death.

I really enjoyed their story, they were both reeling from losses (some more fresher than others, clearly) and you could see that neither wanted to get hurt again, but they were just so perfect for each other as they knew exactly what the other was going through.

It was also rather easy to pick up the storylines and the characters, as it has been well over a month since I read book 2 in the series (I had to put down this series to finish off the Stephanie Plum series, and now that I’ve done that, this will be my next project: the Midnight Breed series.)

Looking forward to book 4!

Final review:
Midnight Awakening rating:
8/10. Really good, loved the characters and I’m glad Elise ended up with Tegan rather than Chase, who I didn’t think was all that well suited to her.
Would I re-read it? It’s hot vampire smut. Of course I’ll re-read it. Damn these addictive paranormal romance books.
Who would I recommend it to? Strictly 18+, the scenes are very smutty and I would not let any youngin read this. It’s a paranormal romance, so it’s aimed at fans of this genre, specifically vampire lovers, and it’s really a chick read. I don’t think I could picture any males out there enjoying this kind of book (but please, do prove me wrong!)

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1388813.Midnight_Awakening
Author’s website: http://www.laraadrian.com/awakening.php
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Midnight-Awakening-The-Breed-Book/dp/0553589393

 

