Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)

Published in: 2012
Pages: 404
Edition read: E-book
Book #: Book 1 in the Throne of Glass series

Book description: From goodreads.com
After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom.

Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another.

Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

My review:
WELCOME TO MY NEW OBSESSION.

I LOOOOOOOVVVVEEEE this book/series/world. OMG. Like… ahhhh. Loved it. So much.

Okay, so this reminded me so much of my favourite series, namely the Chronicles of Elantra series and Maria V Snyder’s Study series. I spent most of the days I was reading this book thinking about it and the characters and the world and not concentrating at work at all. In fact, I’d spend most of my work day staring at the clock and calculating how much longer I had til lunchtime when I could sneak in a few more pages of this delightful book.

Can I just say, Celaena HAS TO end up with Chaol. HAS TO. Every time Dorian shows interest in her, I silently screamed NOOOOOOOOOO at the pages. And the King of Ardalan in an ass and I wish him dead.

(Just an FYI. Have now read all the books, and it took me a week, no joke. 7 days and I have devoured the three books, the mini stories, and the extra scenes… and I cannot get enough. I need more and I cannot wait until next year for my next Throne of Glass fix. I NEED MORE NOW.)

Final review:
Throne of Glass rating:
10000/10. So bloody good!
Would I re-read it? YEESSS. I am seriously considering reading this book again right now, even though I only finished it a week ago. I just… I need more.
Who would I recommend it to? Fans of fantasy fiction with strong female characters. Anyone who has read and loved the two series I previously mentioned- the Chronicles of Elantra by Michelle Sagara, or the Study trilogy by Maria V Snyder- would love this series for sure.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7896527-throne-of-glass
Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Throne_of_Glass
Author’s website: http://sarahjmaas.com/
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Throne-Glass-Sarah-J-Maas/dp/1619630346
Author’s Livejournal: http://sjmaas.livejournal.com/410098.html
 

