The Kill Order (Maze Runner, #0.5)

Published in: 2012
Pages: 327
Edition read: e-book
Book #: Prequel to the Maze Runner Series

Book description: (from goodreads.com)
Before WICKED was formed, before the Glade was built, before Thomas entered the Maze, sun flares hit the earth and mankind fell to disease.

Mark and Trina were there when it happened, and they survived. But surviving the sun flares was easy compared to what came next. Now a disease of rage and lunacy races across the eastern United States, and there’s something suspicious about its origin. Worse yet, it’s mutating, and all evidence suggests that it will bring humanity to its knees.

Mark and Trina are convinced there’s a way to save those left living from descending into madness. And they’re determined to find it—if they can stay alive. Because in this new, devastated world, every life has a price. And to some, you’re worth more dead than alive.

My review:
So first things first, please read the other three books before reading this one. Just do.

Second, I got about halfway through this book, then realised what this title meant (another DUH moment for me).

Thirdly. It’s in the world of the trilogy, it’s describing how things came to be… but it wasn’t as good. I think because it didn’t have the characters that I had grown to love. I had a whole set of other characters, with no ties to Thomas & co, in which to learn about and decide if I like them or not and care if they live or die, when knowing they will eventually die… ah, too much effort.

I didn’t really engage with these characters as much as I did with Thomas and his group, didn’t really care about Mark and Trina and whether or not they live or die. But the story itself was interesting, lots of action and life-threatening moments and whatnot. It was good, but compared to the trilogy that comes afterwards, well I can’t even compare it. The trilogy is amazing. This book, not so much.

Final review:
The Kill Order rating:
7/10. It was good, but after reading the Maze Runner, it wasn’t enough. I want more about Thomas and his friends!
Would I re-read it? Hmm… it was still good to read, so I probably would read it again.
Who would I recommend it to? So anyone who has read the Maze Runner books, this is a definite. It gives explanation as to how the Flare got released in the first place and how the sun flares affected the world, and it is really interesting. Otherwise, it’s a book for people interested in dystopian adventure stories.

Links:
Goodreads- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13089710-the-kill-order
Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Kill_Order
The Maze Runner Wiki: http://mazerunner.wikia.com/wiki/The_Kill_Order

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/0385742894

