The Fault in Our Stars

Published in: 2012
Pages: 318
Edition read: extremely crappy e-book version (which cut out some bits of pages, much to my dismay)

Book description: (from goodreads.com)
Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

My review
After seeing this for freaking months on various websites, I decided to see what the fuss was about. I knew she had cancer, I knew someone was gonna die (not a plot twist, its a book about cancer sufferers, of course someone will die) I was braced and ready not to feel anything.. but damn, did I start crying when the funeral happened. It was so sad! Gah!

This book is quirky as hell. Hazel is a poor sick girl who is making the best of her life as she can, within her limited means. Augustus is just as quirky, and the two of them are a perfect match. The writing style reminds me of how I write, and more creepily, how I speak. How I often make sentences of “So anyways.” That actually popped up in the book and I may have yelled out “holy crap” when I read it, thinking that there was secret spies in my life relating my random talking style and writing style back to this mysterious author somewhere.

The subject matter sucks, the characters are brilliant and likeable and it hurts when things happen to them, and the way it is written makes me love it so very much. I laughed out loud numerous times. I felt like I could easily be friends with these kids.

God, the feels. The feels of this book. I finally understand.

My friend asked me yesterday, as we were grabbing lunch together, if I had read this book, and should she read it. I instantly yelled out “YES”. She was concerned that it was rather sad. I told her to lock herself in a room when reading this book, because she will cry. It is a given. But then told her how wonderful it was. How it was hilarious. How they talked just like we did. The example I gave her was of Hazel’s stance on eggs not being just for breakfast. My friend agreed that this sounded exactly like something we would do, and that it was both awesome and hilarious. I feel I’ve convinced her to read this marvellous book.

Final review:
The Fault In Our Stars Rating:
100000/10. Oh, it is good. I plan on buying a proper paperback version of this book so I can read it again without the ends of chapters being chopped off.
Would I re-read it? See above sentence.
Even with the immense feels this book gives you, it is worth it. I will read it again, and again, and again. It is funny, it is sad, it is just so good.
Who would I recommend it to? For once, the kids are onto something here. I recommend this book to everyone and anyone. It’s not just for teenagers, it’s a book that can easily be read and laughed at/cried on by mature-aged readers (which makes us all sound like we have grey hair. Erm… not-teenager-reader? Older than 20 readers?). It is the top of book charts around the world, and there is a reason for it. I strongly urge people to go out and read this masterpiece. It’s becoming a cultural phenomenon, and you should get into it. Especially because there is a movie coming out/came out (depending on when I publish this… I read the book before the movie came out, but I have posts queued so it will likely be published after the movie comes out).

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11870085-the-fault-in-our-stars
Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Fault_in_Our_Stars
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/The-Fault-Stars-John-Green/dp/0525478817
Author’s website: http://johngreenbooks.com/the-fault-in-our-stars/

