A Storm of Swords: Steel and Snow (A Song of Ice and Fire #3, Part 1 of 2)

Published in: 2000
Pages: 625
Edition read: Paperback
Book #: Book 3 part 1 in the Game of Thrones series.

 

Book description (from back cover)
The Seven Kingdoms are divided by revolt and blood feud, and winter approaches like an angry beast. Beyond the Northern borders, wildlings leave their villages to gather in the ice and stone wasteland of the Frostfangs. From there, the renegade Brother Mance Rayder will lead them South towards the Wall.

Robb Stark wears his new-forged crown in the Kingdom of the North, but his defences are ranged against attack from the South, the land of House Stark’s enemies the Lannisters. His sisters are trapped there, dead or likely yet to die, at the whim of the Lannister boy-king Joffrey or his depraved mother Cersei, regent of the Iron Throne.

And Daenerys Stormborn will return to the land of her birth to avenge the murder of her father, the last Dragon King on the Iron Throne.

 

My Review:
Damn these books are long. It takes me on average a month to read each installment, then 6 months to recover. They are long, very involved, and there are so many characters to keep track of. I am thinking of creating a bloody character and plot chart and sticking it on my wall so I can keep track of who is who, and what they have done/are doing. Anyhoo.

So this book is the one that a lot of people I know have said is ‘the point where the books get really good’. Not entirely sure what they mean by that- the first books were damn good already. But I think pace-wise, it really starts to pick up in this book. I finished it in 3 weeks instead of my customary 4, and found that it was somewhat easier to follow than the first two, even though it was still somewhat difficult. I still have the same favourites- Arya, Sansa, and Danerys (girl power ftw? or is it just that the male characters always do something to just piss me off).

I also officially hate Ygritte. Hate her. Cannot stand her. Wish her dead. Apparently, she’s now a meme as well. Wouldn’t know, haven’t seen the show (not til I get through all the books!) but in the books, I hate her so very much.

Now that I’m officially half-way through the 6 books currently in the series, I am seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. Well, until the author puts out the 6th book (remember, 3rd book is in two parts for us folks in Aus & UK, hence 6 books for us… so it’s book 6 that is being published next) which I believe is sometime this year (but could be wrong).

Time to crack open book 3 part 2!

 

Final review:
A Storm of Swords- Steel & Snow rating:
10/10. I’m glad the pace has really picked up with this one, and the books are getting more familiar and easier to follow than they were two books ago. It’s made the less exciting scenes more bearable than they were before, as now I know they always end up adding to the story somehow.
Would I re-read it? Honestly, I would like to think so. But I doubt it, just based on how long it takes to get through this series. It’s something I would love to do, if I could, but given the amount of books out there in the world that I want to read/have on my e-reader (nearing 4000, it’s a little sad) I doubt I’d get around to re-reading it. But in a perfect world, yes, yes I would read it again.
Who would I recommend it to? Fans of the series and the show, as well as people who enjoy epic fantasy books with a cast of characters as long as the Great Wall of China. Definitely do not give this series to young kids, it is very graphic, very violent, very explicit.

 

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/768889.A_Storm_of_Swords
Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Storm_of_Swords
Amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Game-Thrones-Storm-Swords-Part/dp/0007483848

