The Lost Relic (Ben Hope #6)

Published in: 2011
Pages: 438
Edition read: E-book
Book #: Ben Hope #6

Book description:
Ben is travelling through Italy when he ends up at an art gallery, after nearly running over a young boy by accident. This twist of fate leads him to experience a bloody robbery in the gallery, which eventually leads him to become a fugitive (through many twists and turns) related to this first robbery.

My review:
Okay, so not much of a description above, but I read this book like months ago and can’t quite recall it. For some reason, this review was missing! I was updating my ‘read 2014’ page and noticed I was a book short, and also a review short. No idea how this slipped through the cracks, as it is a book I have had in the back of my mind a lot lately, especially when reading the 7th book in the series.

So Ben is a fugitive, wrongfully accused of murder, and he is on the run through Italy. He is being chased by Darcy, an operative who is mega-focused, and really rubs me the wrong way. I hated her character so very much! Ben is also having issues with his girlfriend Brooke, and it looks like Darcy, who is very much interested in Ben, may end up with him- which I hated also. Blech. I liked Brooke, hate Darcy, why would he go with this pushy annoying chick who chases him around bloody Italy when he has perfectly nice normal and awesome Brooke? Stupid Ben.

As with all these books, there is a lot of action, it is fast-paced and entertaining, and Ben gets himself into impossible scrapes that only he can get out of. It makes it a fast and fun read, and I did love that a lot of the book was chasing through the streets of Italy.

Final review:
The Lost Relic rating:
8/10. Apart from me hating Darcy, this was a really good book, very fast-paced and action packed.
Would I re-read it? Yes, it was a really fun read (minus one dislikeable character)
Who would I recommend it to? Fans of the thriller mystery genres who like action packed, fast paced books containing fictional historical relics and items that always put Ben in weird situations. He is a character that is exceptional, yet very relatable and normal.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9618041-the-lost-relic

