Blood Red

Published in: 2005
Pages: 111
Edition: E-book

Book description:
Red is the famed little red riding hood, all grown up and ready to kick your ass, and anyone elses, who gets in the way between her and the Wolf, who killed her Grandma all those years ago. Yet, by chance it would appear, the one she hates is the one who saves her.

Wolf has been watching over the feisty little creature called Red for years, ever since he was commissioned to kill her grandma, and her, all those years ago. He found that he couldn’t bring himself to harm a child, and that he was somehow drawn to this one. Now he must fight his heart and her mistrust to save her, as the fairytales of the Brothers Grimm band together to stop the Grimm’s from destroying their world.

My review:

Grimm’s fairy tales for grown ups! I love fairy tales and whatnot, and this seemed right up my alley. And it was… but there were parts that were just… not right. For starters, the characters are all overly sexual, when there is no need for it. The menage between Red, Wolf, and Goldilocks is a bit much really, and I still fail to see what that had to do with negotiation, or how it contributed to the story. It’s just one of many random sexual scenes that don’t really add to the story and are just whacked in because, why the hell not.

Even so, the story overall is fun to read, but I question how quickly Red is able to forget her hatred for the Wolf and fall in love with him- it seems to take a matter of hours before she’s throwing herself at him. I did like that the story was fast-paced, and there was a lot of action (outside of the smutty bits) to keep the reader interested.

Final review:
Blood Red rating:
7/10. Minor issues, but the story was good and fun.
Would I re-read it? I might. Various parts of the story have been rattling around my head for the past week now, and I might want to re-read it to get those bits either out of my head, or more clarity. Not sure which yet.
Who would I recommend it to? Fans of grimm’s fairy tales, but no kiddies! Strictly 18+, and not for the faint-hearted.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6516751-blood-red
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Blood-Red-Vivi-Anna-ebook/dp/B009FNVLLU
Author’s website: http://www.vivianna.net/books/blood-red/

