Cast in Silence (Chronicles of Elantra, #5)

Published in: 2009
Pages: 464
Edition: E-Book
Book #: Chronicles of Elantra #5

Description:
Kaylin has had a hard life, that much is clear. Her life is transparent to those she trusts, all but a few months after fleeing the fiefs before she made her way to Elantra and joined the Hawks. It’s her most shameful and guarded secret, and an old friend is about to bring it to the light again, whether Kaylin likes it or not. She will travel back down familiar streets and sights to the place she dreads the most, to once again try and keep her beloved city safe, and just hope that her friends don’t judge her too hard for her past.

My review:

Wooo! 200th post on this site, and it’s a worthy entry with my current favourite series/obsession.

So Kaylin continues to evolve with this entry into the series, where we learn exactly how she came to be in the Hawks and why she is the way she is now. I love how she keeps growing with the reader, it just helps you to understand her more and be able to relate to her. I’m not entirely sure what happened to her in Barren though, I have a feeling that Barren did bad things to her (nasty bad things) but it’s never actually elaborated. You just get a hint that bad stuff went down that scarred poor Kaylin, and she hates Barren with such an intensity that you really feel for her having to work with the asswipe to try and get through this book alive.

Still no Kaylin/Severn action though. My patience is wearing thin! Unfortunately, I don’t have the next book in the series, so until I can find a way to get one (it seems to be the ONLY one I can’t download anywhere, and the only physical copy I have found was in a specialty sci-fi/fantasy book store for a whopping $43, so it could be a while before I get to read it! CURSES) it would seem that I will have to keep on waiting for what will probably never happen. But at least I still love the series enough to keep reading it, even with the lack of my two favourite characters declaring their undying love like they totally should be.

Final review:
Cast in Silence rating:
10/10. Still so, so good.
Would I re-read it? Damn skippy (that means yes)
Who would I recommend it to? If you happen to enjoy fantasy series with strong characters and a fantastical fully developed world, then read this series.

Links:

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10830057-cast-in-silence
Authors website: http://michellesagara.com/books/cast-in-silence/
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Cast-Silence-Chronicles-Elantra-Book/dp/0373803389

