Cast in Shadow (Chronicles of Elantra, #1)

Published in: 2005
Pages: 507
Edition: E-Book
Book #: Chronicles of Elantra #1

Description: (From Goodreads.com)
Seven years ago Kaylin fled the crime-riddled streets of Nightshade, knowing that something was after her. Children were being murdered — and all had the same odd markings that mysteriously appeared on her own skin…

Since then, she’s learned to read, she’s learned to fight and she’s become one of the vaunted Hawks who patrol and police the City of Elantra. Alongside the winged Aerians and immortal Barrani, she’s made a place for herself, far from the mean streets of her birth.

But children are once again dying, and a dark and familiar pattern is emerging, Kaylin is ordered back into Nightshade with a partner she knows she can’t trust, a Dragon lord for a companion and a device to contain her powers — powers that no other human has. Her task is simple — find the killer, stop the murders… and survive the attentions of those who claim to be her allies

My review:
I’ve had one of these books sitting in my bookshelf for a few years but never got around to reading it, until I finally stumbled across the first book in the series on my e-reader (the things I download are a wonder sometimes, I often forget about them and then come across them as little treasures, months later). Anyhoodle, I found this one on my e-reader, started reading it, and devoured it within a few days. The world is rich and vibrant, with the many different species inhabiting the city of Elantra, and Kaylin is a brilliant character- aware of her own pitfalls, strong yet relateable, and just fun to read about. Plus, I am in love with Severn, whom I am determined to see end up with Kaylin. It’s what drives me through the books, if I am honest. I just think he is such an awesome character, he fills in all the cracks in Kaylin’s life perfectly. Plus he sounds just damn hot.

The story itself is a mystery and such an adventure, I couldn’t put it down. I think I have a new obsession.

Final review:
Cast in Shadow rating:
10/10. The only thing I can fault in this series so far, is the lack of Severn and Kaylin getting together. Because it HAS TO HAPPEN. Otherwise, it’s just perfect.
Would I re-read it? Hells yes I will. I plan on re-reading the entire series again, once I’ve finished them. It’s a world that I bloody adore, with such vivid characters. Sagara is my new favourite author.
Who would I recommend it to? It’s a fantasy series set in a world with creatures not found in other series (the cat-like leontines are a cat-human hybrid, the Thaalani are like humans with tentacles on their heads that allow them to read the memories of anyone they touch, etc) and the setting feels like a medieval city, so if that sounds like your cup of tea, then this is the series for you. I feel it is also something that can be read by both female and male readers, as it doesn’t really seem to cater to any single sex, unlike most of the books I seem to read. It’s not smutty, so it can be read by younger audiences.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9542.Cast_in_Shadow
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Cast-Shadow-Chronicles-Elantra-Book/dp/0373802544
Author’s website: michellesagara.com/books/cast-in-shadow/

So I guess you can tell from this post that I have fallen in love with another series. I will tell you right now to brace yourselves for a spam of the Elantra series books, as I have devoured all 9 of them in the space of three months. The first 5 took me 10 days to finish. The last ones took me about 2 weeks to finish, and it happened about two months after the first 5 because I had trouble downloading or locating the 6th book anywhere. And now that I have finally found and devoured all 9 books, I am in deep sorrow that I have to wait until July for the next book in the series to come out. But until then, MORE REVIEWS!!!!

