A Clash of Kings (A Song of Ice and Fire, #2)

Published in: 2002
Pages: 784
Edition: Paperback
Book #: A Song of Ice and Fire #2

Description:
Following on from A Game of Thrones, after Ned Stark had been publicly executed by King Joffrey, the story follows the vaguely intertwining storylines of the remaining Starks- from Robb and his mother as they fight in the north, to Arya as she attempts to make her way back to Winterfell, Sansa in the court of King Joffrey, and Bran at Winterfell as it is slowly falling, to Jon Snow and his time on the wall, and past it- as well as the fan-favourite Tyrion, and Danys who is still trying to raise forces in the southern islands.

My review:
Honestly, I cannot explain the many going-ons of this book in a brief description- it’s nearly 800 pages, there are multiple storylines and characters to follow, and it’s really intense. So just know it continues on from the first book, and about 3/4 of the way through, you will stop reading and howl “NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO” and consider throwing the book at the nearest wall, because goddamnit Martin, stop killing off my favourite characters. Though it all ends up well in the end, so happy days.

It’s a very long book, and I found that I got a bit bored of it in the middle- some of the stories are really good, and I can’t wait to keep reading them- mainly Arya’s- but then some are really quite dull- like Robb’s. Plus the length is really offputting. I’d get a good 50 pages read in a night, feel like huzzuh, I’m getting through it, and then when I went to pick it up the next night, it was like “Did I even read anything last night? I still have soooooo many pages left!”. Ah well. I’ve learnt that with these books, it will take me a month to slog through it, and after reading one, I need a good 6 month breather before I pick up the next one- just to kinda digest everything and build up the courage (Or stupidity) to start the next gianormous book. (Gianormous is totally a word. It means really, really, massively big. Yup.)

Final review:
A Clash of Kings rating:
7/10. It was far more depressing that the first book, and I didn’t like him killing people off that I like… but it was still good. And I am pleased with Arya’s progress through the book, and she hasn’t yet been killed off, so that’s a bonus.

Would I re-read it? Erm… let me get through the rest of the series first, then I will re-consider it…. maybe….

Who would I recommend it to? Fans of the TV series (THE BOOK IS ALWAYS BETTER THAN THE MOVIE/TV SHOW), fans of the first book, fans of other fantasy epics, etc etc etc.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10572.A_Clash_of_Kings
Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Clash_of_Kings
Book depository: http://www.bookdepository.com/Clash-Kings-George-R-R-Martin/9780006479895
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Clash-Kings-HBO-Tie-Song/dp/0345535421

