Apocalyptic Organ Grinder

Published in: 2011
Pages: 100
Edition read: E-Book

Description:
The world has been devastated by the Gabriel Virus, dividing the survivors into two types- the tainted warrior tribes that carry the virus in their blood, marking them upon puberty with pustilles that grow with pus until exploding, sending showers of the extremely contagious virus onto all around them. Then there is the pure, untainted humans, living in the remnants of cities and sending patrols out to wipe-out the tribes of the infected. Tanner Kline is the uninfected hunter who moves through the forest to hunt down the tribes and wipe out their existance, drawn on by what happened to his family; and Lila is the tribeswoman who opposes this hunter for wiping out her kind.

My review:

I cannot recall exactly how I came across this book, but it was on my e-reader, and I decided to read a little bit of it to figure out what it was. On my e-reader, it had no cover or anything… and I ended up reading the entire thing. Being only 100 pages, it didn’t take long.

So it’s one of those post-apocalyptic stories, where someone ends up getting their revenge over the other party, and you end up kinda sympathising with both sides, as you see both sides of the story. Nothing too thought-provoking, and I saw the end twist coming pretty quickly (it didn’t take a genius to figure out that the stray girl who managed to somehow be the only survivor of her village’s demise might not be who she says she is).

Final review:

Apocalyptic Organ Grinder rating: 4/10.  Nothing special, just a short story. Wasn’t too fond of it to be honest, but the writing is fairly solid, and the writer did convey what he wanted to, but it just really wasn’t floating my boat.
Would I re-read it? Probably not. Like I said, it didn’t really float my boat.
Who would I recommend it to? Fans of dystopian or post-apocalyptic novels, which seem to be all the rage these days- the next craze after the vampire thing, it would seem.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11408233-apocalyptic-organ-grinder
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Apocalyptic-Organ-Grinder-Dystopian-Novella-ebook/dp/B00C4BA3W8
Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/apocalyptic-organ-grinder-william-todd-rose/1115061324?ean=9780345549143
Google books: http://books.google.com.au/books?id=wxmZq1O5LLkC&pg=PR1&lpg=PR1&dq=apocalyptic+organ+grinder&source=bl&ots=A7RM8b74uz&sig=k2ibdR5JGmS3acr58qxhRbmU5jk&hl=en&sa=X&ei=OafPUr-0E8XMkQXB9oGgCA&sqi=2&ved=0CGsQ6AEwCQ#v=onepage&q=apocalyptic%20organ%20grinder&f=false

