A Countess Below Stairs

Published in: 1981
Pages: 383
Edition: Paperback
Genre: Romance, Historical, Fiction
Book #: Standalone book

Book description: (From goodreads.com)

After the Russian revolution turns her world topsy-turvy, Anna, a young Russian Countess, has no choice but to flee to England. Penniless, Anna hides her aristocratic background and takes a job as servant in the household of the esteemed Westerholme family, armed only with an outdated housekeeping manual and sheer determination.

Desperate to keep her past a secret, Anna is nearly overwhelmed by her new duties—not to mention her instant attraction to Rupert, the handsome Earl of Westerholme. To make matters worse, Rupert appears to be falling for her as well. As their attraction grows stronger, Anna finds it more and more difficult to keep her most dearly held secrets from unraveling. And then there’s the small matter of Rupert’s beautiful and nasty fiancée…

My review:

This was a second hand book I picked up cheap, like some of my favourite finds tend to be. And this, this is up there with my favourite finds. I’m surprised it was written in 1981, I honestly didn’t realise it was as old as that! Anyway, so the story. Anna is a fabulous character, she falls on hard times yet gets through it all with a smile on her face. She’s a hard worker and a fun person, and she catches the eye of Rupert, so that you spend the rest of the book rooting for her and Rupert to get together, but no, there’s the evil fiance who is such a bitch! She’s into this whole ‘race purity’ thing, which is disgusting to me. So I spent the entire book praying for her death and for Anna and Rupert to ride off into the sunset together, as you do.

Basically, it was a good book. Very good. Set in the 20’s, in the english countryside, and it just seems to capture what is a difficult time for everyone, but the aftermath, when people are trying to rebuild their lives, as well as the hope that a romance can bring to a time so tough.

Final review:
A Countess Below Stairs rating:
10/10. Just adored this book.

Would I re-read it? Yeah I would. It drew me in and gave me a good story, and I will happily read it again and again.

Who would I recommend it to? It’s a historical romance, so if that is your kind of thing, then this might be your kind of book. It is rated as a young adult book, but I felt that it could quite easily be suitable for adults as well, not just teenagers. The writing style works that it can hook in either with ease, and the story is sound, no frivolous and petty.

Links:
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/714569.A_Countess_Below_Stairs
Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Countess_Below_Stairs
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Countess-Below-Stairs-Eva-Ibbotson/dp/0142408654

