Diamond Eyes (Mira Chambers #1)

Published in: 2010
Pages: 534
Edition: E-Book

Description: (From Goodreads.com)
Blind, institutionalised and frustrated by her loss of independence, Mira has been driven to the brink of insanity by medications that make her life unbearable. When she astounds two medical scientists by “seeing” the impossible, they begin an exploration of Mira′s strange perspectives.

Together with Bennet Chiron, an enigmatic ex-con, Mira becomes entangled in a dangerous adventure of self-discovery that leads them to a killer—and exposed to a manipulative sociopath whose own unique talent is more than a match for Mira’s.

My review:
This is one of those things I randomly download, not really paying attention to whatever the story is about, because it has a cool looking cover.
Thankfully, this time it proved to be a winner.
I spent the first 30 or so pages of this book wondering where it was set- it’s not very clear, at the start. Could it be in the US? Or somewhere in the UK? But then, it starts to become very clear, and I think I loved it more when I discovered it’s set in Australia, just off Brisbane (Or Brisvegas, as it should always be known! Ha). I loved the Australian feel of the book, it felt familiar without being overly cliched. Fantastic!

Mira is a strange character. She’s blind, but she can see perfectly- just in different planes to us. The premise of the story is something I had never come across before, and it was intriguing and quite wonderful. She’s been dealt a bad hand in life, yet it changes when Ben comes into her life, giving her the chance to prove she’s not crazy. I loved the budding romance between these two characters, and how Mira becomes more and more herself as the story moves on and she becomes more comfortable with everything, especially Ben.

Final review:
Diamond Eyes Rating-
8.5/10. Looooved it. I have to hunt down the sequels.
Would I re-read it? Yes indeedly. It was a fantastic read.
Who would I recommend it to? Paranormal romance lovers- it’s not your general PR book, but it’s definitely paranormal and it’s definitely romance, and it’s definitely a different idea to whats currently out there. It’s a good book for teenagers, and really I could see it suiting those who aren’t a fan of paranormal or sci-fi, as it’s not a huge jump into that world or anything. It’s just a girl with a talent that seems to be impossible, and yet, there it is. I’d definitely recommend giving it a go, it was something that I didn’t expect much from, but was pleasantly surprised.

Links:
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9766801-diamond-eyes
Harper Collins Australia: http://www.harpercollins.com.au/books/Diamond-Eyes-A-A-Bell/?isbn=9780732291365
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Diamond-Eyes-A-Bell/dp/0732291364
google books: http://books.google.com.au/books/about/Diamond_Eyes.html?id=gn3XrZKv-uIC
ABC Brisbane: http://blogs.abc.net.au/queensland/2011/05/diamond-eyes-with-a-a-bell.html

