A Tale of Two Demon Slayers (Demon Slayer, #3)

Published in: 2010
Pages: 308
Edition: Paperback
Book #: 3rd in the series

Back cover:
Last month, I was a single preschool teacher whose greatest thrill consisted of color-coding my lesson plans. That was before I learned I was a slayer. Now, it s up to me to face curse-hurling imps, vengeful demons, and any other supernatural uglies that crop up. And, to top it off, a hunk of a shape-shifting griffin has invited me to Greece to meet his family.

But it s not all sun, sand, and ouzo. Someone has created a dark-magic version of me with my powers and my knowledge and it wants to kill me and everyone I know. Of course, this evil twin doesn’t have Grandma’s gang of biker witches, a talking Jack Russell terrier, or an eccentric necromancer on its side. In the ultimate showdown for survival, may the best demon slayer win.

My review:
I shamefully skipped the second book in this series, due to my habit of buying books when they are cheap and worrying about whether they are in order later on. So yeah, I’d read the first book, loved it, and assumed that this was the second when it really was the third. Sigh. Though not much seems to have happened in the second book to influence the third one- I was still able to pick up the story with little confusion and the characters were all still there, so no big loss on my part.

So, the story. Loved that it’s set on a Greek island, love that there is a lot of Dimitri’s back story (Oh how yummy he sounds!) and his sisters are great characters. There’s a mystery of who this figure on the island is, who keeps trying to sabotage things, but as it says in the blurb, it’s just the evil magic twin of the main character- and it’s easy to pick that up without having the author spell it out on the blurb.

It’s not thought-provoking, it’s not revolutionary. It’s a decent read, it’s fun and keeps at a good pace. There is the right balance of romance and action to keep you entertained, and the characters are growing nicely, as expected with a series.

Final review:
A tale of two demon slayers rating: 9
.5/10. It’s a decent read, I took 1 day to read it cover to cover (but that’s how I am with any book that captures my interest) and it’s a series that I am really enjoying, even if I skipped a book…
Would I re-read it? Yes indeedy. Like I said, fun book, well paced, good characters, right balance of action and romance and humour to keep me entertained. The humour is a big pro for the book actually, as so many try to take themselves so seriously, where as Lizzie’s grandma and her biker group is just too insane to take seriously and just makes you laugh as you try to imagine her and the things she does.
Who would I recommend it to? It’s a chick read, clearly. It’s paranormal, clearly. It’s humourous, fun, action-packed, and has enough of the romantic element to keep you wanting more without going overboard and making you cringe. It’s a good holiday read, as it’s not too thought provoking. Not recommended for the youngin’s, as it has some mature scenes, but otherwise it’s great for anyone female and into the paranormal fiction genre. Or even if you aren’t, might be worth giving it a shot.

Links:
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6769025-a-tale-of-two-demon-slayers
Author’s website: http://www.angiefox.com/books/a-tale-of-two-demon-slayers/
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Tale-Two-Demon-Slayers/dp/1453888950
Google books: http://books.google.com.au/books/about/A_Tale_of_Two_Demon_Slayers.html?id=BaibQAAACAAJ

