Dark Prince

Published in:1999
Pages: 308
Edition: Paperback
Book #:1st in the series

Back cover:
Raven Whitney is a psychic who has used her gift to help the police track down a serial killer. Now she is determined to escape the glare of recent publicity for the peace and quiet of the Carpathian Mountains. Despite her emotional fatigue, Raven finds herself connecting psychically to another wounded individual somewhere close by.

Prince Mikhail Dubrinsky is the leader of his people but, as his ancient Carpathian race grows ever closer to extinction, he is close to giving in to the heavy weight of loneliness and despair.

Then a female voice enters his mind and tries to console him. Intrigued, Mikhail becomes obsessed with finding this unusual human female. From the moment their minds touch, Raven and Mikhail form a connection.

But there are those who incorrectly view all Carpathians as vampires, and are determined to give their extinction a helping hand.

My review:
When I first read a book or two in this series, I loved it. I was like, yes, vampires and sexyness, I am totally loving this series. Then I read a few more books and realised that each and every one of them is exactly the same. Powerful male, damsel in distress (Yet defiant and totally challenging), they are drawn to each other and have sexy times. Lather, rinse and repeat. It’s very dull after a while, and I probably shouldn’t have read the first book in the series, since I knew this was where the formula would have started. But I did.

Well it was an okay book. Raven is some beautiful damsel with extraordinary powers, Mihail her powerful and sexy vampire-whose-not-a-vampire, and there is drama. And sex. Lots of sex. But that’s really about it. You get introduced to the main male characters who will get mates in the future books (And I was kinda happy to see some of the familiar figures from the other books I had read), but really overall, nothing startling.

The book is a good introduction to the series, yes. It’s smutty as hell, the vampire take is quite interesting (And I wish it was more explored really, rather than “Oh we haven’t had a sex scene in this chapter? Better whack one in), and the writing style flows easily, so it’s not really a challenging book to read. But I feel it lacks that special spark that gets you really interested. Possibly why it took me about 2 weeks to actually get through the book, when the first one I read took me like, a day. Ah well.

Final review:
Dark Prince rating:
5/10. It’s not good, it’s not bad, it’s just a meh book. Middle-of-the-road, not stand-out.
Would I re-read it?Not really. I feel the others were more interesting, and to be honest, the characters felt a bit… well, fake to me. I didn’t enjoy them as much as I have other characters in the series.
Who would I recommend it to?Fans of smut, paranormal romances, and the ‘me big muscled man, you small dainty woman’ scenario. Not recommended for prudes, anyone under about 18, or anyone squeamish about sex scenes, cause they are plentiful and kinda hot.

Links:
Goodreads:
http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1237461.Dark_Prince
Author’s website: http://www.christinefeehan.com/dark_prince/index.php
Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dark_Prince
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Dark-Prince-Carpathians-Series-Book/dp/0505523302

