Defiance (Strange Angels, #4)
Defiance
By Lili St. Crow

Published in: 2011
Pages: 259
Edition: Paperback
Book #: 4th in the series
Brought in: November 2011
Time taken to read: About 4 hours

Back cover:
Dru Andreson has always been a good listener. She listened to her dad, but had to gun him down when he turned zombie. She listened to the Order, but got nothing but lied to in return. She listened to Christophe, but still lost the only friend she had left.

Time to buckle up, boys and girls. Dru Anderson is done listening. From here on out, she’ll face the King of the Vampires on her own terms. And if the Order has a problem with that, they can kiss their sweet little svetocha goodbye.

My review:
I wasn’t having the best day, so reading this book was a way to boost my mood. It helped. Dru is so… well, she’s all about being kick-ass, which makes me feel so better. This book is full of her rage and frustration, and teamed with some very loud Rammstein, it made for quite some stress relief. The amount of action in this book is extreme. She pretty much spends the entire book either running, fighting, or yelling… which is bloody brilliant. She’s fighting her feelings for Christophe still, but is slowly but surely coming to terms with it, even naming that she has feelings for him. In fact, the greatest thing about this book is the lack of Graves. Don’t get me wrong, he’s a great character, and I view him as a loyal friend to Dru. I just have never been able to see him and Dru as a couple. My money’s all on Christophe, which made this book all the more excellent. Even when Dru was questioning Christophe, even when all the evidence was stacking up against him, I still held out hope and it all seemed to sort out in the end. I just didn’t enjy the ending so much. It was an ending sure, but Dru’s once again on the run and I dislike that. On a side note, I’m glad that the broken, Ash, finally managed to change back, though it irks me that he’s acting like he’s a simpleton, or a two-year old.

Final review:
Betrayal rating:
10/10. Great book, great series. I just keep growing to love Dru as she grows as a character, and I’d love to find my own Christophe- he’s just so… yum.
Would I re-read it? Yes siree. Love the book, love the series, definitely will re-read it.
Who would I recommend it to? Teenagers. It’s a young-adult book, aimed at teenagers, paranormal since it’s about vampures and werewulfs, so it’s basically for anyone who enjoys the Twilights, Vampire Academy’s and the House of Night series.

Links:
Amazon: www.amazon.com/DefianceStrangeAngels-Book-4/dp/1595143920
Author: www.lilithsaintcrow.com/journal/the-books/strangeangels/

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8835897-defiance

