Covet (The Fallen Angels, #1)
Covet
By J.R. Ward

Published In: 2009
Pages: 482
Edition: Paperback
Book #: First in the series ^_^
Brought in: I cannot recall. I think it was a christmas present in ’09
Time taken to read: 1 day. Couldn’t put it down.

Back cover:
Redemption isn’t a word Jim Heron knows much about- his speciality is revenge and, to him, all sin is relative. But everything changes when he becomes a fallen angel and is charged with saving the souls of seven people from the seven deadly sins. And failure is not an option.

Vin Di Pietro long ago gave himself up to his business- until fate intervenes in the form of a tough-talking, Harley-riding, self-professed saviour,and a woman who makes him question his destiny. With an ancient evil ready to claim him, Vin has to work with a fallen angel not only to win his beloved over… but to redeem his very soul.

My review
OMG.
So Ward is one of my FAVOURITE authors, and a new series by her? Ecstatic. Put off reading it, as with all her books, because I wanted to save it for the perfect time. Like a shit day that needs a boost. Or as reward for something good, like if I finally got a new job. Anyhoo, I eventually gave up waiting and just started reading it, and was blown away.

This series is set in the same neighbourhood of New York as the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, and so there are a few references to the BDB characters. I positively squee’d when Phury made an apperance. One who sentence, and I was grinning my ass off.

The story is differnet to the BDB- no vampires- but still similar. The alpha males were present, the hot hot smut scenes present, the delicious struggle between good and evil, and the paranormal aspect, all present. Unlike the BDB, the couples in this series look to be temporary- as in, they are in the one book and that’s about it. Instead of them all reappearing, like the BDB, the reappearing characters in this series is Jim, and his fallen angel helpers Adrian and Eddie. Who I rather liked. Especially Adrian (he sounds way hot. I hope he somehow gets a story of his own).

To sum up. Great story, fast paced action and rather likeable characters. The story is always unbelievable, but with that element of humanity that allows you to almost kinda picture it happening. ^_^

Final review:
Covet rating:
10/10. Been a while since we’ve had one of these. I couldn’t put the book down, and I keep thinking about the characters and story long after finishing it.
Would I re-read it? Yes indeedy. As always, Ward’s world draws me in and makes me want to keep visiting.
Who would I recommend it to? Paranormal romance lovers. People who enjoy Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series. People who enjoy delicious strong males and the lovely young women they are willing to die for.

Links:
Amazon:http://www.amazon.com/Covet-Fallen-Angels-Book-1/dp/0451228219
Author’s website: http://www.jrward.com/fallenangels/
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6652893-covet

