The Mozart Conspiracy
The Mozart Conspiracy
By Scott Mariani
Published in: 2008
Pages: 464
Edition: paperback
Brought in: Actually got it for my birthday this year. My mum knew I was hunting down the series and she spied this in a bookstore and paid a bit more than I would have to buy it for me. Though I appreciated it, since it was a seriously decent read
Time taken to read: 2 days

Back cover:
Ben Hope is running for his life…
Enlisted by Leigh Llewellyn- the beautiful opera star and Ben’s first love- to investigate her brother’s mysterious death, former SAS operative Ben finds himself caught up in a centuries-old puzzle.
Officially, Oliver died in a tragic accident whilst investigating Mozart’s death, but the facts don’t add up. His research reveals that Mozart, a notable Freemason, may have been killed by a shadowy splinter group of the cult. The only clues lie in an ancient letter, believed to have been written by the composer himself.
When Leigh and Ben recieve video evidence of a ritual sacrifice being performed, they realise that the sect still exists- and will stop at nothing to keep its secrets.
From the dreaming spires of Oxford to Venice’s labyrinthine canals, the majestic architecture of Vienna and Slovenia’s snow mountains, Ben and Leigh must forget the past and race across Europe to uncover the truth behind the Mozart conspiracy.

My view:
Wow. I wasn’t too thrilled with the idea of Mozart- nothing against the guy or his music, but he tends to bring up memories of a terrible movie I was forced to watch in Music class in 8th grade, which gave me some serious nightmares. But I found myself enjoying this book. Ben is such an excellent character, he is all action and seriously hot, and he always has such a strong female with him, which I find myself always rooting for them to get together. The story was interesting and intriguing, the action was just enough to keep me entertained, and there was limited boring bits. Yet another book I couldn’t put down.

The Mozart Conspiracy rating: 8.5/10.  I seriously enjoyed this book. More than I thought I would. More than the first one, surprisingly.
Would I re-read it? Yup. This series is a nice change from my usual reads (be they paranormal or classics) and they keep me rather entertained. Plus, I can get my dad and brother into them, which is always fun.
Who would I recommend it to? Well that’s a tricky question. I enjoy the books, but I don’t think they are aimed really at my demographic. It is writted by a guy, and involves a lot of action and shooting and car chases, so it’s definitely a guys book. So I recommend it to males, though females who enjoy action movies and action books will also enjoy this book.

Links:
Author’s website: http://www.scottmariani.com/mozart.html
Amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mozart-Conspiracy-Ben-Hope/dp/1847560806

