The Accidental Demon Slayer
By Angie Fox
Published in: 2008
Pages: 292
Edition: Paperback
Brought in: Kuala Lumpur Borders, September 2010
Time taken to read: A few days

Back cover:
It’s never a good day when an ancient demon shows up on your toilet. For Lizzie Brown, that’s just the beginning. Soon her hyperactive terrier starts talking, and her long-lost biker-witch grandma is hurling Smuckers jars filled with magic. Just when she thinks she’s seen it all, Lizzie learns she’s a demon slayer- and all hell is after her.
Of course, that’s not the only thing after her. Dimitri Kallinikos, a devastatingly handsome shape-shifting griffin, needs Lizzie to slay a demon of his own. But how do you talk a girl you’ve never met into going straight to the underworld? Lie. And if that doesn’t work, how dangerous could a little seduction be…?

My view:
Well. This was one of those books I could not put down. I don’t know if I even really liked the characters or the story, but I found myself sitting there for hours reading this book, rather than doing things like celebrating my birthday (Yeah, I happened to start reading this book a few hours before birthday and finished it on the day). But the story is strange. For starters, I am not quite a fan of the geriatrics riding motorcycles and hurling jars of magic around. It’s just an image that I cannot really see happening. Yes I know, magic ain’t real so what’s my problem with active geriatrics? Well it’s not that, it’s just that it made a rather strange image in my mind. However, I did enjoy the book, the story was a little different to what I expected, but overall it was a decent read.

Accidental demon slayer rating: 8/10. Enjoyable read, a little on the strange side. Did quite like the character of Dimitri (But then again, who wouldn’t enjoy a tall tanned dark haired greek man?) and the main character of Lizzie did not get on my nerves, which is always nice.
Would I re-read it? Yeah I think I would. As part of the series, and as a standalone book. As this is the first in the series, you can read it as a standalone book, which is always a nice bonus, and it doesn’t end with any cliff-hangers, so you don’t feel compelled to have to go out and buy the next book to find out what’s gonna happen.
Who would I recommend it to? The usuals. Females from the 20’s upwards, who enjoy a bit of a paranormal romp read. Not a guys read, and I wouldn’t let the kiddies read it either.

Links:
Author’s website http://angiefox.wordpress.com/
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Accidental-Demon-Slayer-Angie-Fox/dp/0505527693

