A Christmas Carol
By Charles Dickens
(This is the original front cover from the novel when it was first published. Thank you, wikipedia!)
published in: 1843
Pages: 126
Edition: paperback
Brought in: December 2010. The book was $1, in a bargain bin in an op-shop. Woot for bargains!
Time taken to read: 5 days, surprisngly. I started it on christmas night, but then kept forgetting it and then reading a page or two here and there. In reality, it took me maybe a total of 5 hours to read, if that.

Back cover:
Go on a ghostly journey with Ebenezer Scrooge…
Scrooge is a mean old man with no friends or family to love him- he’s just so miserable and bitter! One freezing cold Christmas Eve, Marley’s Ghost pays Scrooge a visit and an eerie night-time journey begins. The Christmas spirirts are here to show Scrooge the error of his nasty ways. By visiting his part, present and future, will Scrooge learn to love Christmas and the others around him?

My view:
Ok, let me start off by stating that my book… it’s a primary school child’s book. That much is obvious by it’s cover, and by the fact that at the end of the book, it outlines all the major and minor characters, as well as a rather informative and interesting mini-biography of Charles Dickens. This all aside, the story was suprisingly a good read. Of course everyone knows this story, and has seen one of the millions of movies spun off from this, or books, or plays. (One’s that spring to mind include the mickey mouse version, which I always loved). The thing is, I expected the book to be long and dry and dull, much like all the other books I have read from this era. This one is not! Whether or not the language was dumbed down for primary kids, I do not know, but I found that the story flowed nice and easy, there was no long paragraphs that had nothing to do with the story, the language was simple and straight forward. It did not beat around the bush, it got right to the point. It was quite a good read, and I really enjoyed it.

A Christmas Carol rating: 8/10. Really enjoyed reading this, as opposed to the other ‘classics’ I had read during the year.
Would I re-read it? Yeah. It is such a familiar story, and a quick and easy read. I would like to make it a tradition to read it every year around christmas. =)
Who would I recommend it to? Everyone. Everyone knows the story, but it’s nice to be able to read it yourself instead of watching the hollywood interpretations.

I won’t post any links for this story, as I know you can read it free online as well as buy copies of it at the usual book outlets.

