Antony and Cleopatra (Masters of Rome, #7)

Antony & Cleopatra
By Colleen McCullough
Published in: 2008
Pages: 640
Edition: Big-assed paperback (Seriously, this thing was more doorstop than book)
Borrowed: My dad’s friend lent it to dad to read. But dad said I could read it first, as I’m fascinated by all things ancient and eyptian and roman and whatnot.
Time taken to read: A month and a bit. One of the LONGEST times spent reading a book by me. Ever.

Wow. This book.
It is HUGE.
It is LONG.
It is BORING.
I still have a headache from attempting to figure it out.

So as I mentioned, my dad’s friend lent it to dad to read. Dad has been working through the series, and when we were on holidays in January, he had one of her other works, an 1000-page odyssey. Which I mentioned that I wouldn’t mind reading.
How wrong I was.
So when dad came home with said book, I took one look at it and went “ooh I wanna read that”. So dad let me.
Oy vey.

The book is way too long and involved to really get into, but basically its the story of Marc Antony and his many varied wives, especially his most famous, Cleopatra. It focuses around the days after Julius Caesar has been killed, when Cleopatra is trying to raise his and her son, when Marc Antony is half ruler of rome against Octavinus, the cousin who is trying to undermine him. It involves a lot of people with long annoying names, battles that seem to be pointless, and descirptions that are pretty much completely useless. Well, she did have to get it up to 600 pages somehow, right?
Let’s just move on.

Book rating: Well I gave it a very generous 2/5 on goodreads. Really, it’s a 2/10 for me. It was long, it was boring. Yes, it involved a great story about some of history’s most famous lovers, but seriously, the author has such a dry and boring tone with her writing that it’s less fascinating story and more like I’m studying it for school or something.
Would I re-read it? No. No way. It’s too long and boring and quite frankly, I recon I could find the exact same subject but written in a better manner. The book was great to read to get the base facts. I now know more than I ever did about this period in history.
Who would I recommend it to? My dad. My dad’s friend. Erm… people who enjoy long boring dry reads. Historians. Old people. People who have a long plane ride and not much to do. Perhaps as a form of capital punishment- death by giant boring book.
Ok, it’s not that bad. It was just long and hard to read. And I found myself having to force myself to read the damn thing. I never do that. I hate doing that.

I would post links, but really, I’m not all that interested in promoting said book. If you like the sound of it, google it. Then again, reading my lame review, I doubt anyone would be interested in reading it. Let me just say that my review is not entirely truthful. I am mainly focusing on the fact that it took a long time to read and I struggled to get into it. My dad really enjoyed the book, and I know a lot of people out there would be into it.

