Vampire Academy
By Richelle Mead
Year Published: 2007
Pages: 332
Edition: Paperback
Times Read: first time
Brought in: April 2009 in Borders, Melbourne
Date read: December 15th 2009

So I’ve had this book laying around my room for the last 8 months or so, staring at me and begging to be read. A YA fiction about vampires, something I always enjoyed, yet I really couldn’t seem to be bothered even trying to read it. At some point a few months ago, I brought the other three books in the series… without having read this one first. They too sat on my bookshelf and gathered dust as I ignored them and read other things… but I finally got around to reading them.

I am SO glad I did. I am even more glad that I had the other books in the series laying around, because I read all four of them in four days. They were literally that good that I could not put them down- something my mum even commented on, and that’s rare because I always have a book in my hand.

So on to the book. It’s a typical YA book. There’s a kick-ass female protagonist, Rose (or Rosemarie, or Roza), her best friend Princess Lissa (or Vasilisa), and then the hot but totally unatainable guy, Dimitri (sigh). Oh, and they are vampires. This series deal with the Dhampirs (vampire and human offspring), the Moroi (aka the good guys, who have magical powers in one of the four elements: earth, air, fire or water), and the Strigoi (the bad dudes who kill people). The story revolves around the Moroi kids (like Lissa) going to school to learn about their powers and whatever, and the Dhampir (like Rose) who train at the school to become Guardians for the Moroi to protect them from the big bad Strigoi cause they’re too lazy to do it themselves. Even if they do have magical powers.

The book is pretty straightforward, but there is quite a bit of ass-kicking in it, which I quite enjoyed, and the characters are well developed. The blossoming romance between Rose and Dimitri was what drew me in, and I could not read the book fast enough! It took me just over a day to read the entire thing, and within about an hour of finishing it I was already onto the next one.

So final ratings:
Rating: 10/10 defintely.
Would I re-read it?: Well I almost started re-reading it when I was writing up this review! It started to suck me back in again. So yes, I would most defintely re-read it, and probably will have to restrain myself from doing that right now.
Who would I recommend it to? well since it’s YA fiction, teenagers would fit the bill, as well as anyone who enjoys vampire books. Probably not a guy’s book, even if there is a fair bit of action in it. I’m actually gonna recommend this book to my friend Jess next time I see her, because I know she would enjoy it as much as I did. =)

amazon link: http://www.amazon.com/Vampire-Academy-Book/dp/159514174X
Author’s website:  http://www.richellemead.com/books/vampireacademy.htm

 Enjoy! I know I sure did.
-Shay

